Skip to content
KitSift.net Specs and prices read off the listing
Tools & Garden

RYOBI 18V Mini Chainsaws for Quick Yard Cleanup

3 models on the list September 23, 2026 7 min read

Every figure on this page is quoted from the Amazon listing for that model. Scores are the average rating Amazon buyers left. Nothing here was handled or measured by us.

As Amazon Associates, we earn from qualifying purchases. This means we may receive a small commission at no extra cost to you if you click through and make a purchase.

If you are shopping for a RYOBI mini chainsaw cordless setup, the choice comes down to three things: bar length, whether you want a brushless HP motor, and whether you already own RYOBI 18V ONE+ batteries. RYOBI’s compact pruning saws are built for the same kind of quick yard jobs, trimming limbs, clearing storm debris and cutting back overgrowth, but they get there in different ways.

This guide compares three models. The P5452BTL is an 8 inch ONE+ pruning chainsaw sold as a tool only. The P25013KIT is a 6 inch HP brushless compact mini chainsaw kit with a battery and charger. The PSBCW01K is an 8 inch HP brushless pruning chainsaw kit, also with battery and charger, that lists the most cuts per charge of the three. We compared listings, stated specifications and intended use to show which saw suits which yard and where each one gives way to another.

JOB SHEET

Which RYOBI Mini Chainsaw Should You Buy

  • You already own RYOBI 18V batteries and want the simplest 8 inch saw: RYOBI ONE+ 18V 8 in. Pruning Chainsaw, P5452BTL (tool only).
  • You prune in tight spots and want the smallest bar with everything in the box: RYOBI HP 18V Brushless 6 in. Compact Pruning Mini Chainsaw Kit.
    go to no. 02
  • You want the most cuts per charge and a bar that handles branches up to 6 inches: RYOBI 18V ONE+ 8″ Brushless Pruning Chainsaw Kit.
    go to no. 03
  • You are new to the RYOBI system: either kit, since both include a battery and charger.

No. 01
of 3
Ryobi

RYOBI ONE+ 18V 8 in. Pruning Chainsaw P5452BTL

RYOBI Ryobi ONE+ 18V 8 in. Cordless Battery Pruning Chainsaw (Tool Only- Battery and Charger NOT INCLUDED), P5452BTL

4.0
out of 5
Amazon buyer average


See it on Amazon

Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.

The RYOBI Ryobi ONE+ 18V 8 in. Cordless Battery Pruning Chainsaw is the ryobi p5452 in its tool-only form, which means the battery and charger are not included. The listing says it works with all RYOBI 18V batteries and chargers, so it makes the most sense for someone who already has a ONE+ drill, trimmer or blower and a spare battery on the shelf.

It carries an 8 inch bar and chain and is described as lightweight and compact to reduce fatigue, ideal for light pruning and limbing. Practical touches include side access chain tensioning and on-board storage for the combination wrench, so you can adjust the chain without hunting for tools. The listing also describes an oil-free function to keep operation and maintenance simple, and a SAFE-T-TIP that should be installed before use. The specifications list 3.2 hp, but the listing does not explain how that figure was measured, so we would not lean on it when comparing saws.

What it does not have is brushless HP technology, and the listing does not give a cuts-per-charge figure. If you want faster cutting or a complete kit, the two HP models below take over.

  • 8 inch bar and chain
  • Works with all RYOBI 18V batteries (not included)
  • Side access chain tensioning with on-board wrench storage
  • Oil-free operation

No. 02
of 3
Ryobi

RYOBI HP 18V Brushless 6 in. Compact Pruning Mini Chainsaw Kit

RYOBI HP 18V Brushless 6 in.
RYOBI HP 18V Brushless 6 in.

4.2
out of 5
Amazon buyer average


See it on Amazon

Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.

Best for
Tight pruning with the smallest saw

Pros

  • Battery and charger included
  • Tool-less chain tensioning
  • 41% more compact

Cons

  • 6 inch bar limits branch size
  • Ships in generic bulk box

The RYOBI HP 18V Brushless 6 in. Compact Pruning Mini Chainsaw Kit, model P25013KIT, is the ryobi hp 6 inch mini chainsaw and the smallest saw here. The listing calls it part of the Compact Series, 41% more compact, which matters when you are reaching into a hedge, working between fence posts or trimming close to a house.

It uses ONE+ HP Technology, combining a brushless motor, advanced electronics and high-performance lithium technology. The listing promises 40% faster cutting, but read the fine print: that figure applies when paired with an HP battery, which is sold separately. The kit does include a RYOBI 18V ONE+ battery and charger, and the description says it can make up to 21 cuts per charge with a 2Ah battery. The listing does not specify the capacity of the included battery. It also has tool-less chain tensioning, an oil-free design and a premium full house chain.

One practical note: the listing says this item is removed from retail packaging and ships bulk-packaged in a generic box, with a 30 day limited warranty listed. The 6 inch bar is ideal for pruning and light limbing, but for thicker branches the 8 inch brushless kit gives way to more reach and a higher cuts-per-charge figure.

  • 6 inch bar with premium full house chain
  • Brushless HP motor
  • Includes 18V ONE+ battery and charger
  • Up to 21 cuts per charge on a 2Ah battery

No. 03
of 3
Ryobi

RYOBI 18V ONE+ 8″ Brushless Pruning Chainsaw Kit

RYOBI 18V ONE+ 8" Brushless Pruning
RYOBI 18V ONE+ 8" Brushless Pruning

4.3
out of 5
Amazon buyer average


See it on Amazon

Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.

Best for
Most cutting per charge

Pros

  • Over 65 cuts per 2Ah charge
  • Cuts branches up to 6 inches
  • Brushless with battery and charger

Cons

  • 30 day limited warranty listed
  • Kit battery capacity not specified

The RYOBI 18V ONE+ 8″ Brushless Pruning Chainsaw Kit, model PSBCW01K, is the ryobi 8 inch brushless pruning chainsaw and the most capable saw on paper. It uses ONE+ HP Technology, which the listing says delivers 3X faster cutting, and its 8 inch bar and chain handles branches up to 6 inches in diameter.

The standout number is runtime: the listing claims over 65 cuts per charge with an 18V ONE+ 2Ah lithium battery, far more than the 21 cuts listed for the 6 inch model on the same battery size. It is also described as 30% more compact for access to tight, hard-to-reach spaces, and it uses a premium full house chain. The kit includes a battery and charger, though the listing does not specify the battery’s capacity, and it lists a 30 day limited warranty.

This is the saw for someone cleaning up after a storm or working through a backlog of overgrown limbs in one go. If you mostly snip small branches in dense shrubs, the 6 inch model is easier to fit into small gaps, and if you already own batteries, the tool-only P5452BTL is the lighter commitment.

  • 8 inch bar, branches up to 6 inches
  • Over 65 cuts per charge on a 2Ah battery
  • Brushless HP motor
  • Includes battery and charger

What Sets These Models Apart

Model Bar length Motor Battery and charger Cuts per 2Ah charge
P5452BTL 8 in. Brushless not listed Not included The listing does not specify
P25013KIT 6 in. Brushless HP Included Up to 21
PSBCW01K 8 in. Brushless HP Included Over 65

Figures in this table are copied from the Amazon listings for these models.

NOTES

Buying Tips for RYOBI Mini Chainsaws

Start with batteries. RYOBI’s 18V ONE+ platform is the big draw here: a battery from one tool fits the others. If you already have ONE+ batteries, the tool-only P5452BTL avoids paying for another battery and charger. If you are starting fresh, both kits get you cutting out of the box. Keep in mind that the HP speed claims assume an HP battery, so a standard battery may not deliver the full advertised boost.

Next, think about bar length and the work you actually do. A 6 inch bar is easier to guide through dense growth and close to structures, while an 8 inch bar gives more reach and, on the PSBCW01K, handles branches up to 6 inches in diameter. None of these saws are meant for felling trees; every listing frames them around pruning and light limbing. If you need a bigger cordless saw for heavier work, our guide to a 20V battery chainsaw covers larger options.

Finally, check the small details. All three listings describe oil-free operation, which cuts maintenance. The P5452BTL uses side access tensioning with a stored wrench, and the 6 inch kit lists tool-less tensioning. Wear eye protection and gloves, keep both hands on the saw, and let the chain do the work. For a broader look at compact saws for yard chores, see our cordless mini chainsaw roundup.

FAQ

Does the RYOBI P5452 come with a battery?

No. The P5452BTL listing is tool only, with the battery and charger not included. It works with all RYOBI 18V batteries and chargers.

Which RYOBI mini chainsaw cuts the most per charge?

The 8 inch brushless PSBCW01K lists over 65 cuts per charge on a 2Ah battery, compared with up to 21 cuts for the 6 inch P25013KIT on the same battery size.

Do I need to add bar oil to these saws?

All three listings describe an oil-free function or design intended to make operation and maintenance simpler.

What size branches can a RYOBI mini chainsaw cut?

The PSBCW01K listing says it handles branches up to 6 inches in diameter. The other two listings frame their use as pruning and light limbing without a maximum diameter.

Is the 40% faster cutting claim on the 6 inch kit guaranteed?

The listing says the 40% faster cutting applies when paired with an HP battery, which is sold separately, so the included battery may not deliver that figure.

Which RYOBI mini chainsaw should I buy as a first cordless tool?

Pick one of the kits, since both include a battery and charger. Choose the 8 inch PSBCW01K for bigger branches and runtime, or the 6 inch P25013KIT for tight pruning.