Skip to content
KitSift.net Specs and prices read off the listing
Kitchen & Cooking

GE Profile Opal Pebble Ice: Mini, Mini Pro or Ultra?

5 models on the list October 11, 2026 8 min read

Every spec and price on this page is quoted from the Amazon listing for that model. Scores are out of 10, based on listed specifications and buyer feedback. Nothing here was handled or measured by us.

As Amazon Associates, we earn from qualifying purchases. This means we may receive a small commission at no extra cost to you if you click through and make a purchase.

If you want pebble ice at home from GE Profile, you are choosing an Opal, and the real question is how often you want to refill it and how much counter space you can give up. The Opal Mini is the most compact, the Mini Pro adds a side tank and a few extras, the two Ultra models push output to 38 pounds a day with bigger tanks, and a renewed Opal 1.0 with a side tank is the entry ticket. For long gaming sessions fueled by iced coffee or soda, the side tank models mean fewer trips to the sink between matches.

This guide compares five GE Profile Opal nugget ice makers using their Amazon listings: the Opal Mini Pro, the Amazon-exclusive Opal Ultra with a 1 gallon tank, the Opal Mini, the Opal 2.0 Ultra with a scale inhibiting filter, and a renewed Opal with side tank. They differ in daily output, bin size, water tank capacity, footprint and maintenance features. We compared listings and specifications rather than running them ourselves, and we flag where listings leave details out.

JOB SHEET

Which GE Profile Pebble Ice Maker Should You Buy

  • Smallest possible footprint for a desk corner or dorm: GE Profile Opal Mini Nugget Ice.
    go to no. 03
  • Compact but with fewer refills and a fun lit bin: GE Profile Opal MINI PRO Nugget.
    go to no. 01
  • Game nights, parties and heavy daily use: GE Profile Opal Ultra with the 1 gallon tank.
    go to no. 02
  • High output with built-in scale protection: GE Profile Opal 2.0 Ultra Nugget.
    go to no. 04
  • Pebble ice without paying for a new unit: GE Profile Opal Nugget Ice Maker (Renewed).
    go to no. 05

No. 01
of 5
Profile

GE Profile Opal MINI PRO Nugget

GE Profile Opal MINI PRO Nugget
GE Profile Opal MINI PRO Nugget

9.8
/10
Our score


Well rated
Scored 9.2/10 or higher


See it on Amazon

Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.

Best for
Trying Opal ice on a tighter budget

Pros

  • Side tank included
  • 3 lb bin
  • Auto-refill recirculation

Cons

  • Renewed with 90-day warranty
  • Only 24 lbs per day

Best for
Premium setups wanting less descaling

Pros

  • Scale inhibiting filter
  • 75 gallon side tank
  • Touch display with cleaning cycle
  • Stainless scoop with magnetic holder

Cons

  • Bin size not stated
  • Smaller tank than Opal Ultra

Best for
Tight counters and solo drinkers

Pros

  • Only 8.6 inches wide
  • First batch in 5 minutes
  • Descale packet storage in front

Cons

  • No side tank
  • 2 lb bin

Best for
Game nights and big households

Pros

  • 1 gallon XL side tank
  • 38 lbs per day
  • 3 lb removable bin
  • Alexa and Google Home control

Cons

  • First batch takes about 10 minutes
  • Largest-capacity footprint to plan for

Best for
Small desks that still want a tank

Pros

  • Side tank plus top fill
  • First batch in 5 minutes
  • Colored bin light via app
  • Descaler and filter included

Cons

  • 2 lb bin fills fast
  • Wider than the plain Mini

The GE Profile Opal MINI PRO Nugget ice maker takes the compact Mini body and adds a side tank. The description mentions an included 1/2 gallon side tank, and the machine still offers top fill, so you can pour water in from above without pulling the unit away from the wall. Output matches the Mini: first batch in 5 minutes or less, 1.5 pounds per hour and up to 36 pounds per day into a removable 2 lb bin.

The listing gives it an 11.6 inch width, 15.6 inch depth and 14.56 inch height, and GE says the Mini line is 30% smaller than the original Opal. Wi-Fi lets you schedule ice production, get maintenance alerts and update software through the SmartHQ app, with Amazon and Google voice support. A hidden front drain tube and a Drain and Dry system that clears excess water between cycles help limit mineral deposits. The box includes a scoop, a drip tray, a 6 pack of descaling powder and a descaling filter.

The Mini Pro suits a gaming room or office where you want ice on hand all evening but lack space for an Ultra. The colored ice bin light, customizable in the app, is a nice touch next to an RGB setup. Heavy entertainers will find the 2 lb bin empties quickly, and the Ultra models are the better fit there.

  • Up to 36 lbs per day, first batch in 5 minutes or less
  • Side tank plus top fill station
  • Customizable colored ice bin lighting
  • Includes 6 pack descaler and a descaling filter

No. 02
of 5
Profile

GE Profile Opal Ultra

GE Profile Opal Ultra
GE Profile Opal Ultra

9.8
/10
Our score


Well rated
Scored 9.2/10 or higher


See it on Amazon

Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.

The GE Profile Opal Ultra is an Amazon exclusive built around a 1 gallon XL side tank. That is the largest tank in this lineup, and GE says it can make up to three times more ice than standard models before you refill. The tank detaches for filling and cleaning, and no water line is required.

It makes up to 38 pounds of nugget ice per day, about 1.6 pounds per hour, into a removable 3 lb bin, and melted ice recirculates automatically. The first batch takes about 10 minutes, a little slower than the Mini models. SmartHQ app control lets you start or schedule ice and get cleaning reminders, and it works with Alexa and Google Home. The feature list says it includes a water filter and descaling powder, though the included components field lists only the ice maker, drip tray and scoop, so confirm what ships in your box.

For LAN parties, watch parties and busy households, this GE Profile Opal Ultra is the one that keeps up. If you want a closer look at how the countertop Opal range fits together, our GE Profile countertop nugget ice maker guide covers the wider family.

  • 1 gallon detachable side tank
  • 38 lbs per day, 3 lb removable bin
  • Works with Alexa and Google Home
  • 300 watts per the listing

No. 03
of 5
Profile

GE Profile Opal Mini Nugget Ice

GE Profile Opal Mini Nugget Ice
GE Profile Opal Mini Nugget Ice

8.0
/10
Our score


See it on Amazon

Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.

The GE Profile Opal Mini Nugget Ice maker is the narrowest machine here at 8.6 inches wide, 15.6 inches deep and 14.56 inches tall, in a Stone Grey finish. If counter space is your limiting factor, this is the GE Profile Opal Mini to look at.

Performance mirrors the Mini Pro: first batch in 5 minutes or less, 1.5 pounds per hour, up to 36 pounds per day and a 2 lb removable bin that fills automatically. It uses a top fill reservoir and a batch-based system that filters and recirculates water. You also get Wi-Fi scheduling through SmartHQ, a hidden front drain tube, the Drain and Dry system and front panel storage for descaling packets. The box includes a scoop, a drip tray and a 6 pack of descaling powder.

What it lacks is a side tank, so you will refill more often than with any other model here. It suits a solo player or a couple who want pebble ice for a few drinks a day. Step up to the Mini Pro if refills bug you.

No. 04
of 5
Profile

GE Profile Opal 2.0 Ultra Nugget

GE Profile Opal 2.0 Ultra Nugget
GE Profile Opal 2.0 Ultra Nugget

9.4
/10
Our score


Well rated
Scored 9.2/10 or higher


See it on Amazon

Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.

The GE Profile Opal 2.0 Ultra Nugget ice maker comes with a 0.75 gallon side tank and a scale inhibiting filter. GE rates it at 1.6 pounds per hour and up to 38 pounds per day at 70 F ambient with 60 F water, and 32 pounds per day at 90 F ambient with 70 F water under DOE testing conditions. First batch arrives in 10 minutes or less.

The listing highlights an advanced cleaning system that helps sanitize and descale when used regularly, and a touch display for power, status, cleaning cycles and Wi-Fi setup that darkens when idle. The box includes a premium stainless steel scoop with a magnetic scoop holder. The listing gives 150 watts and 120 volts but does not specify the bin capacity or dimensions.

The GE Profile Opal 2.0 Ultra suits someone in a hard water area who wants less descaling hassle and a polished finish. Its tank is smaller than the Opal Ultra’s 1 gallon, so if refill frequency is your top priority, the Amazon exclusive has the edge.

No. 05
of 5
GE

GE Profile Opal Nugget Ice Maker (Renewed)

GE Profile Opal Nugget Ice Maker with Side Tank (Renewed)

8.0
/10
Our score


See it on Amazon

Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.

The GE Profile Opal Nugget Ice Maker listed here is a renewed Opal 1.0, model OPAL01GEWKT, with a side tank. It is sold under Amazon Renewed and described as manufacturer refurbished with limited, if any, wear, fully tested, and backed by a 90-day warranty rather than the limited 1 year warranty listed on the new units.

It is also the slowest machine here: up to 24 pounds per day, with the first batch in as little as 15 minutes. It does have a 3 lb bin, and the side tank expands water capacity to roughly three times the ice before a refill. A recirculating system sends melted ice back to the reservoir. At 14.25 inches wide, 17.25 inches high and 15.5 inches deep, it is bulkier than the Mini models.

This GE Opal renewed unit suits a first-time buyer who wants to find out if they love pebble ice. Anyone who needs the newer app features or output should buy new. If you want to compare it with other GE options, see our broader GE ice machine roundup.

What Sets These Models Apart

Model Daily output Bin Water tank
Opal Mini Pro Up to 36 lbs 2 lb Side tank (1/2 gallon per description) plus top fill
Opal Ultra (Amazon exclusive) Up to 38 lbs 3 lb 1 gallon XL side tank
Opal Mini Up to 36 lbs 2 lb Top fill reservoir only
Opal 2.0 Ultra Up to 38 lbs Not specified 0.75 gallon side tank
Opal 1.0 Renewed Up to 24 lbs 3 lb Side tank included

Figures in this table are copied from the Amazon listings for these models.

NOTES

Buying Tips for GE Profile Pebble Ice Makers

Think in refills, not just pounds. Every Opal here makes more ice per day than most people drink, but a small reservoir means topping up often. If you hate interrupting a session to fetch water, a side tank model is worth the extra space.

Measure your counter. The Mini is 8.6 inches wide, the Mini Pro 11.6 inches with its tank, and the renewed Opal 14.25 inches. Leave room above for top filling or for pulling the tank off. Nugget ice machines also run a fan and compressor, so a spot that is not right beside your microphone is a smart call for streamers.

Plan for descaling. Nugget ice makers recirculate water, so minerals build up. The Minis include descaling powder, and the 2.0 Ultra adds a scale inhibiting filter. Budget time for regular cleaning cycles no matter which model you pick.

FAQ

Which GE Opal should I buy for a gaming room?

The Mini Pro balances a compact body with a side tank and customizable bin lighting. If several people share it, the Opal Ultra with a 1 gallon tank keeps up better.

What is the difference between the Opal Mini and Mini Pro?

Both make up to 36 lbs per day into a 2 lb bin. The Mini Pro adds a side tank, colored bin lighting and a descaling filter, and is wider at 11.6 inches.

Does the GE Opal side tank need a water line?

No. The Opal Ultra listing states no water line is required; you fill the detachable tank by hand.

How fast is the first batch of ice?

The Mini and Mini Pro list 5 minutes or less, the two Ultras about 10 minutes, and the renewed Opal 1.0 about 15 minutes.

What warranty does the renewed Opal have?

The renewed unit carries a 90-day warranty. The new models list a limited 1 year warranty.

Can I control these with voice assistants?

The Mini, Mini Pro and Opal Ultra listings mention Amazon and Google voice support. The 2.0 Ultra lists Wi-Fi and smart connectivity, and the renewed listing does not specify.