Skip to content
KitSift.net Specs and prices read off the listing
Kitchen & Cooking

GE Profile Opal Nugget Ice Makers: Mini, 2.0 or Ultra?

6 models on the list October 14, 2026 8 min read

Every spec and price on this page is quoted from the Amazon listing for that model. Scores are out of 10, based on listed specifications and buyer feedback. Nothing here was handled or measured by us.

As Amazon Associates, we earn from qualifying purchases. This means we may receive a small commission at no extra cost to you if you click through and make a purchase.

If you want a GE Profile Opal countertop nugget ice maker, the choice comes down to three things: how much ice you burn through, how often you want to refill water, and how much counter you can spare. The Opal Ultra is the high-output model with a big side tank, the Opal Mini and Mini Pro squeeze nugget ice into a smaller footprint, and the Opal 1.0 and 2.0 are the original full-size designs.

We compared six GE Profile Opal listings on Amazon based on specifications and stated features, not hands-on testing. Daily output ranges from 24 to 38 pounds, bins hold 2 or 3 pounds, and three of them include a side tank. One of the six is a renewed unit sold through Amazon Renewed, which we flag clearly because it carries a shorter warranty. Several listings also contain conflicting numbers, which we point out where they appear.

JOB SHEET

Which GE Profile Opal Should You Buy

Best for: Smart-home fans who add a tank later

Pros

  • Wi-Fi and voice control
  • 3 lb removable drawer
  • LED display

Cons

  • Filter and cleaning kit extra
  • Listing output figures conflict

Best for: Basic nugget ice without smart features

Pros

  • 3 lb bin
  • First batch in 10 minutes

Cons

  • Side tank sold separately
  • Output figures conflict

Best for: Value seekers fine with refurbished

Pros

  • Side tank included
  • 3 lb bin
  • Auto-refill recirculation

Cons

  • Renewed, 90-day warranty
  • 24 lbs per day

Best for: Compact setups wanting a side tank

Pros

  • Half-gallon side tank
  • Custom colored bin light
  • 36 lbs per day
  • Descaling filter included

Cons

  • 2 lb bin
  • Wider than the Mini

Best for: Small desks, dorms and gaming corners

Pros

  • First batch in 5 minutes
  • 6-inch wide footprint
  • Top-fill reservoir
  • 6-pack descaler included

Cons

  • 2 lb bin
  • No side tank

Best for: Hosts and home bars wanting fewer refills

Pros

  • 38 lbs per day
  • 1-gallon side tank included
  • Filter and descaler included
  • Wi-Fi, Alexa, Google Home

Cons

  • Largest countertop footprint here
  • Amazon exclusive listing
  • Parties, home bars and long game nights with minimal refills: GE Profile Opal Ultra
    go to no. 01
  • Tight desk, dorm or gaming corner: GE Profile Opal Mini
    go to no. 02
  • Compact footprint but fewer refills, plus RGB-style bin lighting: GE Profile Opal Mini Pro
    go to no. 03
  • Side tank on a smaller budget if you accept a refurbished unit: GE Profile Opal Nugget Ice Maker (Renewed)
    go to no. 04
  • Plain nugget ice with no app needed: GE Profile Opal 1.0
  • Smart control on the classic full-size body: GE Profile Opal 2.0

No. 01
of 6
Profile

GE Profile Opal Ultra

GE Profile Opal Ultra
GE Profile Opal Ultra

9.8
/10
Our score


Well rated
Scored 9.2/10 or higher


See it on Amazon

Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.

The GE Profile Opal Ultra is the flagship in this group and an Amazon exclusive. It makes up to 38 pounds of nugget ice per day at 1.6 pounds per hour, with a first batch in about 10 minutes and a removable 3-pound bin. Melted ice recirculates automatically back into production.

The big upgrade is the included 1-gallon XL side tank, which GE says can make up to three times more ice than standard models before you refill, with no water line needed. It detaches for filling and cleaning. Wi-Fi through the SmartHQ app lets you start or schedule ice, get cleaning reminders and receive software updates, and it works with Alexa and Google Home. The stainless steel body is designed to fit under most cabinets, and the box includes a water filter and descaling powder. This is the one for hosts who do not want to babysit a reservoir mid-tournament. If counter space is scarce, the Mini Pro gives you a side tank in a smaller package.

  • 38 lbs per day, 3-lb bin
  • 1-gallon side tank included
  • Wi-Fi with Alexa and Google Home
  • Water filter and descaler in the box

No. 02
of 6
Profile

GE Profile Opal Mini

GE Profile Opal Mini Nugget Ice
GE Profile Opal Mini Nugget Ice

8.0
/10
Our score


See it on Amazon

Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.

The GE Profile Opal Mini Nugget Ice Maker is built for small spaces. At 8.6 inches wide, 15.6 deep and 14.56 tall, GE says it is 30 percent smaller than the original Opal, yet it still produces up to 36 pounds a day at 1.5 pounds per hour, with the first batch in 5 minutes or less. The removable 2-pound bin fills automatically.

A top-fill station means you pour water in from above rather than pulling out a reservoir, and a hidden front drain tube makes draining quick. A Drain and Dry system removes excess water between cycles to limit mineral deposits, and front panel storage holds descaling packets. Wi-Fi and voice control are built in, and a 6-pack of descaler and a scoop are included. It is the obvious pick for a desk-side drink station. The trade-off is refills: there is no side tank, so heavy users should step up to the Mini Pro.

  • 36 lbs per day, first batch in 5 minutes
  • 8.6-inch wide footprint
  • Top-fill reservoir and hidden drain tube
  • Drain and Dry system

No. 03
of 6
Profile

GE Profile Opal Mini Pro

GE Profile Opal MINI PRO Nugget
GE Profile Opal MINI PRO Nugget

9.8
/10
Our score


Well rated
Scored 9.2/10 or higher


See it on Amazon

Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.

The GE Profile Opal MINI PRO Nugget Ice Maker keeps the Mini’s 36 pounds per day, 1.5 pounds per hour, 5-minute first batch, top fill, drain tube and Drain and Dry system, then adds a half-gallon side tank according to its description. It also gets customizable colored lighting for the ice bin, controlled in the SmartHQ app, which is a fun touch next to an RGB-lit setup.

The listing gives a width of 11.6 inches, wider than the Mini, while repeating the same “30 percent smaller than the original” line, so treat the dimensions rather than the slogan as your guide when measuring your counter. It includes a 6-pack of descaler and a descaling filter. The bin is 2 pounds. Choose it over the Mini if refills annoy you; choose the Ultra if you want both a bigger tank and a bigger bin.

  • Half-gallon side tank per the description
  • Customizable colored bin light
  • 36 lbs per day, 2-lb bin

No. 04
of 6
GE

GE Profile Opal Nugget Ice Maker (Renewed)

GE Profile Opal Nugget Ice Maker
GE Profile Opal Nugget Ice Maker

8.0
/10
Our score


See it on Amazon

Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.

The GE Profile Opal Nugget Ice Maker with Side Tank is a renewed unit sold under the Amazon Renewed brand. It is described as manufacturer-refurbished, tested and showing limited wear if any, backed by a 90-day warranty rather than the one-year limited warranty listed on the new units.

The description identifies it as an Opal 1.0, model OPAL01GEWKT. It makes up to 24 pounds of ice per day with a first batch in as little as 15 minutes and a 3-pound bin. The side tank is included and, per the listing, lets it make about three times more ice before refilling, and a recirculating system sends melted ice back to the reservoir. Dimensions are 14.25 by 17.25 by 15.5 inches. It suits someone who wants the side tank setup and accepts refurbished condition and slower output. If you want the longer warranty and higher output, buy new.

No. 05
of 6
GE

GE Profile Opal 1.0 Countertop Nugget

GE Profile Opal 1.0 Countertop Nugget Ice Maker

6.8
/10
Our score

MATERIALS

Chewable nugget ice
34 lbs/day, First batch in 10 min, 3 lb bin, Flip-top lid, .5 Gallon Built-in Tank, Stainless Steel
Ice Maker
Drip Tray, Ice Scoop
#1
920 in Appliances (See Top 100 in Appliances) #417 in Ice Makers

Copied from the Amazon listing for this model.


See it on Amazon

Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.

The GE Profile Opal 1.0 Countertop Nugget Ice Maker is the original design. It holds up to 3 pounds of ice and starts its first batch in 10 minutes. Dimensions are 17.3 inches deep, 9.67 wide and 17.1 tall, with 350 watts listed.

The listing has some inconsistencies. It claims 34 pounds per day but also says it makes one pound per hour, which works out to about 24 pounds. It mentions a built-in water tank of over half a gallon in the same bullet that says the side tank is sold separately. The listing does not mention Wi-Fi. It suits someone who wants nugget ice with no smart features, but most buyers will find the 2.0 or Mini a better fit.

No. 06
of 6
GE

GE Profile Opal 2.0 Countertop Nugget

GE Profile Opal 2.0 Countertop Nugget Ice Maker

7.2
/10
Our score

MATERIALS

Chewable nugget ice
38 lbs/day, First batch in 10 min, 3 lb bin, Melted ice reused, SmartHQ WiFi & Alexa, Black Stainless
Ice Maker
Drip Tray, Ice Scoop
#1
066 in Appliances (See Top 100 in Appliances) #234 in Ice Makers

Copied from the Amazon listing for this model.


See it on Amazon

Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.

The GE Profile Opal 2.0 Countertop Nugget Ice Maker adds built-in Wi-Fi to the full-size Opal body. SmartHQ lets you monitor status and schedule ice, with automatic software updates and Alexa and Google voice control. An LED display lights up in use and dims at rest, and an advanced cleaning system helps sanitize and descale.

The features claim 38 pounds per day, 1.6 pounds per hour, a first batch in 10 minutes or less and a 3-pound drawer. The description, however, says one pound per hour, 24 pounds per day, a 48-ounce bin and a first batch in 20 minutes or less. Its item type says “with Side Tank,” but the included components list only the maker, drip tray and scoop, and the filter and cleaning kit are sold separately. Confirm details before buying. If you want the side tank guaranteed, the Ultra includes it. Our broader GE ice machine guide covers more of the lineup.

  • Wi-Fi with Alexa and Google voice control
  • LED display and 3-lb removable drawer
  • Filter and cleaning kit sold separately

What Sets These Models Apart

Model Listed daily output Bin Side tank Wi-Fi
Opal Ultra 38 lbs 3 lbs 1 gallon, included Yes
Opal Mini 36 lbs 2 lbs No Yes
Opal Mini Pro 36 lbs 2 lbs Half gallon, included Yes
Opal Renewed 24 lbs 3 lbs Included Not specified
Opal 1.0 34 lbs (conflicting) 3 lbs Sold separately Not specified
Opal 2.0 38 lbs (conflicting) 3 lbs Unclear Yes

Figures in this table are copied from the Amazon listings for these models.

NOTES

Buying Tips for GE Profile Opal Nugget Ice Makers

Refills are the hidden cost of any countertop ice maker, because these machines have no water line. A side tank is the single biggest quality-of-life upgrade if you host often, which is why the Ultra and Mini Pro stand out. The Mini’s top-fill design is the next best thing for smaller setups.

Plan for maintenance too. Nugget ice machines compact flakes of ice, and hard water leaves scale that affects taste and performance. Models that include descaler or a filter get you started, and the Mini line’s Drain and Dry system is designed to reduce deposits. If you are weighing a smaller machine that makes two cube sizes, our look at a dual-size ice maker covers a different approach.

Finally, measure your counter, including clearance under cabinets and space for a side tank. Output numbers look similar across the new units, so size and refill convenience usually decide it.

FAQ

What is the difference between the Opal Mini and Mini Pro?

Both make 36 pounds per day with a 2-pound bin. The Mini Pro adds a half-gallon side tank and customizable colored bin lighting, and it is listed as wider.

Which GE Profile Opal makes the most ice?

The Opal Ultra, at 38 pounds per day with a clearly listed 1.6 pounds per hour. The Opal 2.0 claims the same but its listing is inconsistent.

Is the renewed Opal worth it?

It includes a side tank and 3-pound bin, but it is an Opal 1.0 at 24 pounds per day with a 90-day warranty instead of one year.

Do GE Opal ice makers need a water line?

No. You fill them manually, and a side tank reduces how often you refill.

Which Opal is best for a small space?

The Opal Mini, at 8.6 inches wide.

Related reading: frigidaire crushed ice maker.