DeWalt Drill and Impact Driver Combos: Which Kit Packs the Most Power?
Every spec and price on this page is quoted from the Amazon listing for that model. Scores are out of 10, based on listed specifications and buyer feedback. Nothing here was handled or measured by us.
As Amazon Associates, we earn from qualifying purchases. This means we may receive a small commission at no extra cost to you if you click through and make a purchase.
A DeWalt drill and impact combo kit gives you the two tools that handle most drilling and fastening jobs, plus batteries and a charger, in one box. Where the kits differ is in the motor (brushed or brushless), whether the drill has a hammer mode for masonry, and how big the batteries are. Those three choices decide whether a kit feels effortless on a deck build or runs out of steam halfway through.
This guide compares six kits: the classic DCK240C2, the brushless DCK277D2, the DCK203P2 hammer drill combo, the DCK250QQ2 and DCK2101QQ2 with POWERPACK batteries, and a renewed DCK225D2R ATOMIC combo. We compared listings and specifications rather than running the tools ourselves, so every number below comes from DeWalt’s product data, including a few spots where those listings are messy.
JOB SHEET
Which DeWalt Drill and Impact Combo Kit Should You Buy
- Furniture assembly, shelves and light home repairs: DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill combo (DCK240C2).
- Brushless efficiency without hammer mode: DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill brushless combo (DCK277D2).
- Drilling into brick and concrete with long-running batteries: DEWALT 20V MAX 2-Tool Hammer Drill combo (DCK203P2).
- Big fasteners and hard drilling on POWERPACK batteries: DEWALT 20V MAX XR Impact Driver and hammer drill combo (DCK250QQ2).
go to no. 02 - The most drilling power DeWalt lists in this group: DEWALT 20V MAX XR 3-Speed Hammer combo (DCK2101QQ2).
- Cramped cabinets and a renewed-kit value: DEWALT DCK225D2R 20V MAX ATOMIC combo.
No. 01
of 6
Dewalt
DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Combo (DCK240C2)

8.2
/10
Our score
Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.
Best for
Pros wanting maximum drilling power
Pros
- DCD1007 hammer drill, 3-speed
- Up to 275 holes per charge
- Side handle and belt hooks
Cons
- 6 lb kit weight
- Messy battery specs in listing
Best for
Renovators drilling into masonry
Pros
- 404 UWO brushless hammer drill
- Two 5Ah batteries
- Contractor bag included
Cons
- Impact torque not specified
Best for
DIYers wanting brushless on a budget
Pros
- Brushless drill and impact
- Compact 7.6-inch drill
- 3-year warranty plus service contract
Cons
- No hammer mode
- 0Ah compact batteries
Best for
Heavy fastening and masonry drilling
Pros
- Two 4Ah POWERPACK batteries
- 1825 in-lbs impact torque
- 2-speed hammer drill
Cons
- Heaviest kit here
- No bag listed
Best for
First toolkit for home repairs
Pros
- Compact 7.5-inch drill
- 8 lb impact driver
- Two batteries, charger and bag
Cons
- Brushed motors
- No hammer mode
The DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill combo in DCK240C2 form is DeWalt’s long-running starter kit. The description names the DCD771 compact drill/driver and a 1/4 in. impact driver listed as the DCF88M2. The drill measures 7.5 inches and weighs 3.6 pounds with a 1/2 in. single-sleeve ratcheting chuck, while the impact driver is 5.55 inches long and 2.8 pounds with a one-handed 1/4 in. hex chuck.
Both tools have LED work lights with a 20-second delay, and the kit includes two batteries, a charger and a storage bag, backed by a 3-year limited warranty. The listing marks the finish as brushed, and there is no hammer mode, so this kit is best for wood, drywall and light metal rather than masonry.
It suits homeowners building a first toolkit. It gives way to the DCK277D2 if you want brushless motors, and to any hammer drill kit if you plan to drill concrete. Our DeWalt power drill guide covers standalone drills if you only need one tool.
No. 02
of 6
Dewalt
DEWALT 20V MAX XR Impact Driver and Hammer Drill Combo (DCK250QQ2)

8.4
/10
Our score
Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.
The DEWALT 20V MAX XR Impact Driver and hammer drill kit pairs the DCD806 2-speed hammer drill with the DCF845 impact driver. DeWalt calls the DCD806 its most powerful 20V MAX 2-speed hammer drill, up to 109 percent more powerful, with speeds of 0-650 and 0-2,000 rpm. The brushless DCF845 delivers 1,825 in-lbs of torque and 3,400 RPM, which DeWalt describes as 30 percent more torque, aimed at large-diameter screws.
Powering them are two 20V MAX XR POWERPACK batteries, listed as 4Ah in the title, plus a charger. The listing gives a kit weight of 4.84 kg, and it does not mention a bag. This is where POWERPACK batteries earn their place: high-draw jobs like large bits in masonry or driving long lag screws benefit from a battery built to deliver more power.
It suits serious renovators and tradespeople. It gives way to the DCK2101QQ2 if you want the even stronger DCD1007 drill and a bag with belt hooks and side handle.
- DCD806 2-speed hammer drill, 0-650/0-2,000 rpm
- DCF845 brushless impact, 1,825 in-lbs and 3,400 RPM
- Two 4Ah XR POWERPACK batteries
- Charger included
No. 03
of 6
Dewalt
DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless Drill and Impact Driver Combo (DCK277D2)

8.6
/10
Our score
Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.
The DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill kit in DCK277D2 form is the brushless upgrade to the DCK240C2. It includes the DCD777 1/2 in. drill/driver and the compact DCF787 1/4 in. impact driver, two 2.0Ah compact batteries, a charger and a contractor bag. The drill measures 7.6 inches front to back and has a variable speed trigger, a quick-release hex chuck on the impact and a bright LED with a 20-second delay.
The kit specs list 1,500 in-lbs of torque and 2,800 rpm, but the listing does not say which tool those figures belong to. The warranty package is the most detailed here: a 3-year limited warranty, a 1-year free service contract and a 90-day money-back guarantee.
It suits DIYers who want brushless efficiency for regular projects without paying for hammer mode. It gives way to the DCK203P2 once masonry enters the picture, since it has no hammer function.
No. 04
of 6
Dewalt
DEWALT 20V MAX 2-Tool Hammer Drill and Impact Combo (DCK203P2)

8.6
/10
Our score
Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.
The DEWALT 20V MAX 2-Tool Hammer Drill combo pairs the DCD798 brushless 1/2 in. hammer drill with the DCF840 impact driver. DeWalt rates the DCD798 at up to 404 UWO (unit watts out) for drilling wood, metal and masonry. The DCF840 is built to drive large-diameter fasteners, though the listing does not specify its torque.
The standout is batteries: two 5Ah DCB205 packs, the largest standard 20V MAX packs in this roundup, plus a charger and contractor bag. Bigger packs mean fewer swaps on long days, and brushless motors help stretch runtime further. For readers comparing standalone drivers, our DeWalt impact drivers roundup goes deeper.
It suits renovators who drill into brick or concrete and want long runtime. It gives way to the XR POWERPACK kits if raw drill power matters more than runtime.
- DCD798 brushless hammer drill, up to 404 UWO
- DCF840 impact driver for large fasteners
- Two 5Ah DCB205 batteries
- Charger and contractor bag
No. 05
of 6
Dewalt
DEWALT 20V MAX XR 3-Speed Hammer Drill and Impact Combo (DCK2101QQ2)

9.6
/10
Our score
Well rated
Scored 9.2/10 or higher
Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.
The DEWALT 20V MAX XR 3-Speed Hammer drill kit pairs the DCD1007, which DeWalt calls its most powerful hammer drill, with the same DCF845 impact driver found in the DCK250QQ2 (1,825 in-lbs and 3,400 RPM per the specs). DeWalt claims up to 275 holes per charge. It is the most complete box too: a charger, side handle, two belt hooks, a bag and two DCB2104 4Ah batteries.
The listing has errors worth flagging. One spec line says “1 AA batteries required,” and a feature bullet garbles the torque as “4.5 cm lbs.” The components list and title make clear the kit runs on two 4Ah XR POWERPACK batteries. The listed kit weight is 12.6 pounds, so expect heft.
It suits pros and heavy users who want the most drilling power listed here. It gives way to the DCK250QQ2 if the DCD806 is enough drill and you do not need the extras.
No. 06
of 6
Dewalt
DEWALT DCK225D2R 20V MAX ATOMIC Combo Kit (Renewed)

8.0
/10
Our score
Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.
Best for
Tight spaces and value-minded buyers
Pros
- 88-inch drill head
- 1,700 in-lbs impact torque
- Brushless ATOMIC compact tools
Cons
- Renewed, not new
- Included parts not itemized
The DEWALT DCK225D2R 20V MAX ATOMIC 1/2 in. drill driver and impact driver combo is a renewed kit sold under Amazon Renewed. It pairs the DCD794, DeWalt’s shortest 20V MAX drill driver at a 5.88-inch tool head length, with the DCF809 impact driver at 5.1 inches long and 1,700 in-lbs of torque. DeWalt says the drill offers up to 16 percent more power for drilling, and both tools are brushless with onboard LEDs.
The title references 2Ah batteries, but the listing does not itemize the components, so check the product page for the charger and bag before buying. Because it is renewed, confirm the return and warranty terms offered with the listing.
It suits anyone working in tight spaces like cabinets and between studs. It gives way to the DCK203P2 if you need a hammer mode. For more compact kits, see our DeWalt impact driver kit guide.
What Sets These Models Apart
| Kit | Drill | Impact driver | Batteries (listing) |
|---|---|---|---|
| DCK240C2 | DCD771 compact, brushed | 1/4 in., 2.8 lb | 2 included, capacity not specified |
| DCK250QQ2 | DCD806 2-speed hammer | DCF845, 1,825 in-lbs | 2 x 4Ah POWERPACK |
| DCK277D2 | DCD777 brushless | DCF787 compact | 2 x 2.0Ah |
| DCK203P2 | DCD798 brushless hammer, 404 UWO | DCF840 | 2 x 5Ah |
| DCK2101QQ2 | DCD1007 3-speed hammer | DCF845, 1,825 in-lbs | 2 x 4Ah POWERPACK |
| DCK225D2R | DCD794 ATOMIC, 5.88 in. | DCF809, 1,700 in-lbs | 2Ah per title |
Figures in this table are copied from the Amazon listings for these models.
NOTES
Buying Tips for DeWalt Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kits
Hammer mode is the first filter. If you ever mount a TV on brick, anchor into concrete or drill a foundation wall, a hammer drill kit (DCK203P2, DCK250QQ2 or DCK2101QQ2) saves real frustration. If your projects are wood, drywall and furniture, a drill/driver kit is lighter and easier to handle.
Battery size shapes the experience more than most buyers expect. Compact 2Ah packs keep tools light for overhead work, 5Ah packs run much longer, and POWERPACK batteries are aimed at high-draw jobs. Since all these kits run on the same 20V MAX platform, you can mix packs later. Our overview of DeWalt 20V power tools shows what else those batteries can run.
Brushless motors are worth it if you use your tools often. They run cooler and more efficiently, which means more work per charge. The DCK240C2 is the only kit here the listing marks as brushed.
FAQ
What is the difference between the DCK240C2 and DCK277D2?
The DCK240C2 pairs the DCD771 drill with a compact impact driver and is listed as brushed. The DCK277D2 uses the brushless DCD777 drill and DCF787 impact driver with 2.0Ah batteries and a contractor bag.
Which DeWalt combo kit has the most powerful drill?
DeWalt calls the DCD1007 in the DCK2101QQ2 its most powerful hammer drill, with up to 275 holes per charge. The DCK250QQ2’s DCD806 is described as the most powerful 20V MAX 2-speed hammer drill.
What are POWERPACK batteries?
They are DeWalt 20V MAX XR batteries included in the DCK250QQ2 and DCK2101QQ2, listed at 4Ah and designed to pair with high-demand tools like the DCD806 and DCD1007.
Do I need a hammer drill combo kit?
Only if you drill into masonry such as brick, block or concrete. For wood, metal and drywall, a standard drill/driver kit is lighter and fully capable.
Is a renewed DeWalt ATOMIC kit a good buy?
The DCK225D2R offers DeWalt’s shortest 20V MAX drill and a 1,700 in-lb impact driver. Because it is renewed and the listing does not itemize parts, check what is included and the warranty terms first.
Can I use batteries from one kit in another?
Yes. Every kit here runs on DeWalt’s 20V MAX platform, so the batteries are shared across these tools.



