DeWalt 20V Drills: ATOMIC vs XR vs Starter Kits
Every spec and price on this page is quoted from the Amazon listing for that model. Scores are out of 10, based on listed specifications and buyer feedback. Nothing here was handled or measured by us.
As Amazon Associates, we earn from qualifying purchases. This means we may receive a small commission at no extra cost to you if you click through and make a purchase.
The best DeWalt 20 volt cordless drill for most people building out a gaming room or home office is a compact brushless model in a kit with batteries, because it has enough torque for wall anchors and furniture yet stays small enough to work behind a desk. If you already own DeWalt 20V MAX batteries, a tool-only drill is the smarter buy, and if you plan to mount monitor arms or TV brackets into studs, a drill and impact driver combo earns its place.
This DeWalt drill comparison covers six models: the ATOMIC DCD794B and XR DCD801B as tool-only brushless drills, the DCD777B as a tool-only compact brushless option, and three kits: the DCD771C2 starter set, the DCD777D1 brushless set and the DCK240C2 drill plus impact driver combo. They differ in motor type (brushed or brushless), top speed, what comes in the box and how much raw power they bring.
JOB SHEET
Which DeWalt 20V Drill Should You Buy
- You own DeWalt batteries and want a brushless compact drill: DEWALT ATOMIC 20-Volt MAX Brushless Cordless DCD794B.
go to no. 01 - Your first drill for desks, shelves and flat-pack furniture: DEWALT 20V Max Cordless Drill Driver DCD771C2.
go to no. 02 - A brushless starter kit in one box: DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill Driver DCD777D1.
go to no. 03 - Monitor arms, TV mounts and lots of screws into studs: DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill DCK240C2 combo.
go to no. 04 - A brushless upgrade using batteries you already have: DEWALT 20V MAX* Cordless Drill DCD777B.
go to no. 05 - The most power for bigger builds and repeated drilling: DEWALT 20V MAX XR Brushless Cordless DCD801B.
go to no. 06
No. 01
of 6
Dewalt
DEWALT ATOMIC 20-Volt MAX Brushless Cordless DCD794B

9.0
/10
Our score
Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.
Best for
Existing 20V MAX owners wanting brushless compact
Pros
- Brushless motor per title
- 1/2 in. chuck
- Tool-only, uses your batteries
Cons
- Listing gives almost no specs
- No battery or charger
The DEWALT ATOMIC 20-Volt MAX Brushless Cordless 1/2 in. Drill Driver DCD794B is the one model here where the listing tells you very little. Its title confirms a brushless motor, a 1/2 in. chuck, the 20V MAX battery platform and that it is sold as a tool only. Beyond that, the listing does not specify speed, torque, length, weight or lighting.
What we can say is how the ATOMIC line is positioned in general: it is DeWalt’s compact family, aimed at people who value a smaller tool in the hand. For a desk builder that matters, since cable trays and under-desk mounts often mean working in cramped spaces. Because the numbers are missing, check the product page carefully before buying, and remember that you will need a 20V MAX battery and charger.
It suits readers who already have DeWalt packs and want a brushless second drill. If you want confirmed specs in writing, the DCD777B and DCD801B give you far more to compare.
No. 02
of 6
Dewalt
DEWALT 20V Max Cordless Drill Driver DCD771C2

9.0
/10
Our score
Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.
Best for
Heavy drilling and serious builds
Pros
- Up to 2,000 rpm
- ANTI-ROTATION System
- 3-position 70-lumen LED
- Up to 175 holes per charge
Cons
- Tool only
- More drill than desk jobs need
Best for
Mounting TVs, monitors and wall shelves
Pros
- Drill plus impact driver
- Two batteries and charger
- LED lights on both tools
Cons
- Compact brushed-class drill
- Impact driver model unclear in listing
Best for
Brushless starter kit for home setups
Pros
- Brushless motor
- 6 in. compact length
- LED with 20-second delay
- 0Ah battery and charger
Cons
- Only one battery included
Best for
First-time buyers assembling desks and shelves
Pros
- Two batteries, charger and bag
- Two speeds, 0-450 and 1,500 rpm
- Ratcheting 1/2 in. chuck
Cons
- Brushed motor, 1.3Ah batteries
- Not for masonry
The DEWALT 20V Max Cordless Drill Driver DCD771C2 is the classic starter kit. It comes with two 20V MAX XR 1.3Ah batteries, a charger and a contractor bag, so everything is in the box on day one. The motor is rated at 300 unit watts out, and the two-speed transmission gives 0-450 rpm for driving screws and up to 1,500 rpm for drilling.
DeWalt is unusually specific about what it is and is not for: home repairs, light construction and drilling into wood, plastic and light metal are in scope, while concrete, masonry and heavy industrial use are not. That lines up with a gaming-room build, where you are assembling furniture, hanging shelves and screwing cable management into a desk. Note that the torque spec is listed as both 650 in-lb (maximum) and 530 in-lb, so the listing is not consistent on that figure.
It suits first-time owners. Its small 1.3Ah batteries and brushed motor mean you give up runtime compared with the brushless DCD777D1 below. If you mostly drive small screws, our guide to the DeWalt cordless screwdriver range may be an even better fit.
- 300 UWO motor
- Two speeds: 0-450 and 1,500 rpm
- 1/2 in. single-sleeve ratcheting chuck
- Two 1.3Ah batteries, charger and bag
No. 03
of 6
Dewalt
DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill Driver DCD777D1

9.6
/10
Our score
Well rated
Scored 9.2/10 or higher
Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.
The DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill Driver DCD777D1 is the kit version of the compact brushless drill. It brings a brushless motor, which DeWalt says delivers more runtime than brushed, in a 7.6 in. body with a comfort grip and an LED that stays lit for 20 seconds after you release the trigger. The kit includes one 2.0Ah battery and a charger, and carries a three-year limited warranty.
The listing puts top speed at 1,500 rpm across two speeds and torque at 53.1 Nm. Its description says 340 UWO while the spec table says 300 watts, so treat power output as roughly in that band. For practical purposes this is a clear step up from the DCD771C2 in efficiency, and the LED is genuinely helpful when you are fastening brackets under a dark desk.
It suits anyone who wants a brushless drill and needs the battery and charger too. The catch is a single battery; if you work in long sessions, you may want a spare, or the two-battery DCK240C2 combo.
- Brushless motor
- 7.6 in. front to back
- LED with 20-second delay
- 2.0Ah battery and charger included
No. 04
of 6
Dewalt
DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill DCK240C2 Combo

8.6
/10
Our score
Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.
The DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit DCK240C2 pairs the DCD771 compact drill/driver with a 1/4 in. impact driver, plus two batteries, a charger and a storage bag. The listing names the impact driver as DCF88M2, which looks like a typo, so do not rely on that model code. Both tools have LED work lights with a 20-second delay.
Sizes are well documented: the drill is 7.5 in. long and 3.6 lbs, while the impact driver is 5.55 in. and 2.8 lbs, with a 1/4 in. hex chuck that accepts 1 in. bit tips for one-handed loading. For a setup builder, the impact driver is the reason to buy this kit: lag screws into studs for a heavy monitor arm or TV mount go in far more easily with an impact driver than with a drill alone.
It suits anyone planning wall mounts and repeated screw driving. If you only need to drill holes and assemble furniture, the single-drill kits cost you less shelf space.
- Drill/driver and 1/4 in. impact driver
- Drill 7.5 in. and 3.6 lbs; impact driver 5.55 in. and 2.8 lbs
- LED lights with 20-second delay on both
- Two batteries, charger and bag
No. 05
of 6
Dewalt
DEWALT 20V MAX* Cordless Drill DCD777B

9.8
/10
Our score
Well rated
Scored 9.2/10 or higher
Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.
Best for
Upgrading from brushed with spare batteries
Pros
- Brushless, 340 UWO
- 52 in. compact body
- Up to 57% more runtime
Cons
- Battery and charger sold separately
- Conflicting torque figures
The DEWALT 20V MAX* Cordless Drill DCD777B is the tool-only version of the compact brushless drill. The listing highlights 340 unit watts out and up to 57% more runtime than brushed motors, a 7.52 in. body, a two-speed transmission, an ergonomic grip and a bright LED with a 20-second delay. Top speed is listed at 1,600 rpm.
The listing has some rough edges. Its description calls it a “hammer drill/driver”, but nothing else in the data mentions a hammer mode, so we would not buy it for masonry on that basis. Torque is given as both 249.33 Nm and 39.1 ft-lb, figures that do not match each other. Battery and charger are sold separately.
It suits DeWalt owners with spare batteries who want brushless efficiency without paying for another charger. First-time buyers should look at the DCD777D1 kit instead.
No. 06
of 6
Dewalt
DEWALT 20V MAX XR Brushless Cordless DCD801B

8.0
/10
Our score
Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.
The DEWALT 20V MAX XR Brushless Cordless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver DCD801B is the performance flagship of this list. DeWalt calls it its most powerful 20V MAX two-speed drill driver, claiming up to 109% more power, with speeds of 0-650 and 0-2,000 rpm and up to 175 holes per charge.
It also brings control features the others lack. The ANTI-ROTATION System senses excessive rotation, for example when a large bit binds, and shuts the tool down, with a red LED showing it has engaged. The work light is a 3-position LED rated at 70 lumens with auto-shutoff, the chuck is a metal ratcheting 1/2 in. unit, and it is Tool Connect chip ready for the DeWalt Site Manager app (chip sold separately). The listing gives drilling capacity as 0.5 in. in both wood and metal.
This is the drill for people whose weekend projects go beyond the desk, such as building a custom rig shelf or a sim-racing frame. It is tool only, and for light assembly it is more drill than you need. For fastening bolts in tight racks, a DeWalt 20V cordless ratchet can complement it.
- 0-650 and 0-2,000 rpm
- ANTI-ROTATION System
- 3-position 70-lumen LED
- Up to 175 holes per charge
What Sets These Models Apart
| Model | Motor | Top speed | What is included |
|---|---|---|---|
| ATOMIC DCD794B | Brushless | Not specified | Tool only |
| DCD771C2 | High-performance brushed-class | 1,500 rpm | Two 1.3Ah batteries, charger, bag |
| DCD777D1 | Brushless | 1,500 rpm | One 2.0Ah battery, charger |
| DCK240C2 | Drill plus impact driver | Not specified | Two tools, two batteries, charger, bag |
| DCD777B | Brushless | 1,600 rpm | Tool only |
| XR DCD801B | Brushless | 2,000 rpm | Tool only |
Figures in this table are copied from the Amazon listings for these models.
NOTES
Buying Tips for DeWalt 20V Drills
Start with what you already own. All six run on 20V MAX batteries, so if you have packs from another DeWalt tool, a tool-only drill like the DCD777B or DCD801B stretches your budget further. If you are starting from zero, a kit avoids the surprise of a drill that cannot run out of the box.
Next, match the tool to the job. Brushless motors run longer per charge and suit people who drill regularly, while a compact brushed-class drill is fine for occasional furniture and shelf work. If most of your jobs are driving long screws into studs, a combo with an impact driver saves your wrists. A full DeWalt home tool set can round out a first kit with hand tools.
Finally, use the clutch. Every drill/driver here is designed for fastening as well as drilling, and starting on the low speed setting when assembling particleboard furniture helps avoid stripped holes.
FAQ
Which DeWalt drill is best for building a PC desk setup?
The DCD777D1 kit balances a brushless motor, compact size and an included battery. Add the DCK240C2 combo if you will mount heavy monitor arms or TVs into studs.
Is the ATOMIC DCD794B better than the DCD777B?
Both are compact brushless tool-only drills, but the DCD794B listing gives almost no specifications, so it is hard to compare directly. The DCD777B lists 340 UWO, 1,600 rpm and a 7.52 in. length.
Can these drills go into concrete?
The DCD771C2 listing says it is not suitable for concrete or masonry. None of the other listings clearly confirm a hammer mode, so plan on a dedicated hammer drill for masonry.
What does tool only mean?
The DCD794B, DCD777B and DCD801B come without a battery or charger. You need a DeWalt 20V MAX battery and charger to run them.
Which DeWalt 20V drill is the most powerful?
DeWalt calls the XR DCD801B its most powerful 20V MAX two-speed drill driver, with up to 2,000 rpm and up to 175 holes per charge.



