Skip to content
KitSift.net Specs and prices read off the listing
Tools & Garden

DeWalt Oscillating Multi-Tools: XR, ATOMIC or 12V XTREME?

6 models on the list October 9, 2026 10 min read

Every spec and price on this page is quoted from the Amazon listing for that model. Scores are out of 10, based on listed specifications and buyer feedback. Nothing here was handled or measured by us.

As Amazon Associates, we earn from qualifying purchases. This means we may receive a small commission at no extra cost to you if you click through and make a purchase.

If you want a DeWalt cordless oscillating multi-tool, the real decision is not whether DeWalt makes a good one but which platform and which box. The brand splits its oscillators into full-size 20V MAX XR models, the more compact 20V ATOMIC line and the 12V XTREME line, and each is sold either as a bare tool or as a kit with a battery, charger and accessories. Pick the platform your batteries already live on, then pick the box that fills the gaps in your shop.

This guide covers six models. Three are versions of the DCS356 XR tool (the DCS356C1 kit, the DCS356B bare tool and the DCS356D1 accessory kit), one is the ATOMIC DCS354B, one is the XTREME 12V DCS353B, and one is a third-party oscillating tool built by Synxiter to run on DeWalt 20V batteries. We compared listings, specifications and intended use rather than running the tools ourselves, so every detail below comes straight from the product data.

JOB SHEET

Which DeWalt Oscillating Multi-Tool Should You Buy

  • No DeWalt batteries yet and you want one box that works on day one: DEWALT 20V MAX XR Oscillating Tool (DCS356C1).
    go to no. 01
  • You already own DeWalt 20V packs and want the full XR tool without paying for another battery: DEWALT 20V MAX XR Oscillating Multi-Tool (DCS356B).
    go to no. 02
  • You are starting a renovation and want blades and sanding sheets in the same case: DEWALT 20V MAX XR Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit (DCS356D1).
    go to no. 03
  • You work in cramped cabinets and want a smaller 20V body: DEWALT atomic 20V MAX* Oscillating Tool (DCS354B).
    go to no. 04
  • You own DeWalt 20V batteries and are comfortable with a non-DeWalt tool body: Cordless Oscillating Tool for Dewalt 20V by Synxiter.
  • Your shop runs on 12V batteries and you want the lightest-feeling platform: DEWALT XTREME 12V MAX Brushless Cordless (DCS353B).
    go to no. 06

No. 01
of 6
Dewalt

DEWALT 20V MAX XR Oscillating Tool (DCS356C1)

DEWALT 20V MAX XR Oscillating Multi-Tool
DEWALT 20V MAX XR Oscillating Multi-Tool

9.8
/10
Our score


Well rated
Scored 9.2/10 or higher


See it on Amazon

Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.

Best for
Renovators wanting a full accessory set

Pros

  • 28 cutting and sanding attachments
  • 0Ah battery and charger
  • Brushless 3-speed motor

Cons

  • Bulkiest box to store

Best for
Owners of DeWalt 20V batteries

Pros

  • Bare tool keeps the pack lean
  • 0-13,000/17,000/20,000 OPM ranges
  • Two wood blades included

Cons

  • No battery or charger

Best for
First-time buyers wanting battery and charger

Pros

  • Brushless motor
  • 3-speed selector up to 20,000 OPM
  • Battery and charger included
  • 3-year limited warranty

Cons

  • Battery capacity listing looks inconsistent

The DEWALT 20V MAX XR Oscillating Tool is the DCS356 in its simplest kit form: the tool, one lithium-ion battery and a charger. The listing title puts its top speed at up to 20,000 oscillations per minute, controlled by a 3-speed selector plus a Dual-Grip variable-speed trigger, so you set the ceiling with the selector and feather the speed with your finger. DeWalt says the brushless motor delivers up to 57 percent more runtime than a comparable brushed tool.

This is the pick for someone buying into the DeWalt 20V system for the first time. The listing mentions a one-hour charge time, but the battery capacity field reads “40 amp_hours,” which does not look like a realistic figure for a single pack, and the listing does not clearly state the actual amp-hour rating. Check the battery label in the product photos before you rely on a specific runtime. The listing gives an item weight of 3 pounds, and DeWalt backs it with a 3-year limited warranty.

Where it gives way: if you already have batteries, the DCS356B bare tool is the same XR platform without the extra pack, and if you need a pile of accessories, the DCS356D1 includes far more in the box.

  • 3-speed selector with Dual-Grip variable-speed trigger
  • Quick-Change accessory system, no wrenches needed
  • Universal accessory adaptor for most oscillating tool accessory brands
  • Bright LED for dark work surfaces

No. 02
of 6
Dewalt

DEWALT 20V MAX XR Oscillating Multi-Tool (DCS356B)

DEWALT 20V MAX XR Oscillating Multi-Tool
DEWALT 20V MAX XR Oscillating Multi-Tool

8.6
/10
Our score


See it on Amazon

Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.

The DEWALT 20V MAX XR Oscillating Multi-Tool in DCS356B form is the bare tool version of the same brushless XR oscillator. Its listing spells out the three speed ranges clearly: 0-13,000, 0-17,000 and 0-20,000 OPM. That matters in practice, because the low range keeps sanding pads and scrapers controllable while the top range is where plunge cuts in wood go quickest.

The box contains the tool and two wood cutting blades, with no battery or charger. The listing gives a weight of 2.4 pounds and dimensions of 12.01 x 6.61 x 3.07 inches, and names cutting, sanding and grinding as recommended uses. If you already run DeWalt 20V drills or saws, this is the most sensible way to get the full XR experience. Readers building out a wider kit can also browse our guide to the DeWalt XR oscillating tool lineup.

It gives way to the DCS356C1 or DCS356D1 if you have no batteries, and to the ATOMIC DCS354B if a shorter, narrower tool matters more to you than the speed selector.

No. 03
of 6
Dewalt

DEWALT 20V MAX XR Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit (DCS356D1)

DEWALT 20V MAX XR Oscillating Tool
DEWALT 20V MAX XR Oscillating Tool

9.4
/10
Our score


Well rated
Scored 9.2/10 or higher


See it on Amazon

Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.

The DEWALT 20V MAX XR Oscillating Multi-Tool sold as the DCS356D1 is the most complete package here. According to the description, it includes the brushless 3-speed tool, 28 popular cutting and sanding attachments, the universal accessory adaptor, one 2.0Ah battery and a charger. That makes it a ready-to-work bundle for someone about to tackle drywall cutouts, trim, door jambs and sanding in the same week.

The listing gives a weight of 2.3 pounds for the tool and backs it with a 3-year warranty on material and workmanship. The motor, speed selector, Dual-Grip trigger, Quick-Change system and LED are all the same XR features you get on the other DCS356 versions, so the difference is purely in the box. For a broader look at the brushless line, see our DeWalt brushless oscillating multi-tool overview.

It gives way to the DCS356C1 if you prefer to buy accessories one at a time for specific jobs, and to the DCS356B if you already own batteries and blades.

  • 28 cutting and sanding attachments in the kit
  • 2.0Ah battery and charger included
  • 3-speed selector with brushless motor
  • Universal accessory adaptor

No. 04
of 6
Dewalt

DEWALT atomic 20V MAX* Oscillating Tool (DCS354B)

DEWALT atomic 20V MAX* Oscillating Tool
DEWALT atomic 20V MAX* Oscillating Tool

8.0
/10
Our score


See it on Amazon

Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.

Best for
Compact 20V tool for tight spaces

Pros

  • ATOMIC compact brushless design
  • Wood-with-nails and fast-cut blades
  • Variable speed trigger

Cons

  • No 3-speed selector listed
  • Battery not included

The DEWALT atomic 20V MAX* Oscillating Tool runs on the same 20V batteries as the XR models but belongs to DeWalt’s ATOMIC compact line. The listing gives dimensions of 12 x 4.5 x 3.06 inches and a weight of 2.3 pounds, so it is noticeably slimmer across one axis than the DCS356B’s 6.61-inch figure. It keeps the brushless motor, Dual-Grip variable-speed trigger, Quick-Change system, universal accessory adapter and LED.

What the listing does not mention is a 3-speed selector, and it does not specify a maximum OPM, so assume speed control comes from the trigger alone. In the box you get the tool, a wood-with-nails blade, a fast-cut wood blade and the adapter; no battery is included. This makes it a good fit for someone cutting in cabinets, under sinks or between joists who already has 20V packs.

It gives way to the XR DCS356B if you want the dedicated speed ranges for switching between aggressive cutting and delicate sanding.

No. 05
of 6
Synxiter

Cordless Oscillating Tool for Dewalt 20V (Synxiter)

Cordless Oscillating Tool for Dewalt 20V Battery,6 Variable Speed Brushless-Motor Tool,22Pcs Oscillating Multi Tool Kit for Cutting Wood Drywall Nails Remove Grout & Sanding(Tools Only)

8.0
/10
Our score


See it on Amazon

Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.

Best for
DeWalt battery owners open to third-party tools

Pros

  • 6 speed settings, 6000-21000 OPM
  • 22-piece accessory kit
  • Auxiliary handle included

Cons

  • Made by Synxiter, not DeWalt
  • One-year service, not DeWalt warranty

Be clear about what this one is. The Cordless Oscillating Tool for Dewalt 20V is made by Synxiter, not DeWalt, and the listing itself states that the tool belongs to the Synxiter brand and is only compatible with DeWalt batteries. It does not include a battery. It is here because many people searching for an oscillating tool for a DeWalt battery will find it, and it is fair to explain how it differs.

On paper it offers six variable speed settings from 6,000 to 21,000 OPM, a brushless motor, an LED light and a 3-degree oscillation angle. The kit is generous: one tool, three straight saw blades, one segment saw blade, a flexible scraper, a sanding pad holder, 15 sanding papers and an auxiliary handle, with tool-free blade installation. The listed weight is 1.23 kg. Support comes from the seller’s 24/7 customer service and a year of quality service, which is a shorter commitment than DeWalt’s multi-year warranties on the other tools here.

It suits a DeWalt battery owner who wants a lot of accessories in one box and accepts a third-party tool. Anyone who wants DeWalt’s own build and warranty should choose the DCS356B or DCS354B instead.

No. 06
of 6
Dewalt

DEWALT XTREME 12V MAX Brushless Cordless (DCS353B)

DEWALT XTREME 12V MAX Brushless Cordless Oscillating Tool with Blades and Adaptor, Bare Tool Only (DCS353B)

8.2
/10
Our score


See it on Amazon

Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.

Best for
12V platform users doing light detail work

Pros

  • Up to 18,000 OPM brushless
  • 2 degree oscillation angle
  • Compact 10.3-inch body

Cons

  • Battery not included
  • 12V, not the 20V platform

The DEWALT XTREME 12V MAX Brushless Cordless oscillating tool is the only 12V model in this roundup. Its description gives up to 18,000 OPM with a 3.2-degree oscillation angle, a variable speed trigger and an integrated LED. The listed dimensions of 4.76 x 2.99 x 10.3 inches make it the shortest tool here, while the listed weight of 2.3 pounds is similar to the 20V compact options.

The box includes the tool, a wood cutting blade, a wood/metal blade and the universal accessory adaptor. The battery is not included. DeWalt pitches it for plunge cuts in decking, trimming floorboards and sanding furniture. It is the right call for someone already invested in DeWalt 12V tools, or who wants the smallest possible body for detail work. If you are more interested in DeWalt’s broader cordless range, our multi tool DeWalt guide covers more options.

It gives way to any of the 20V models if you already own 20V batteries, since the two platforms do not share packs.

What Sets These Models Apart

Model Platform Speed (per listing) In the box
DCS356C1 20V MAX XR 3-speed, up to 20,000 OPM Tool, battery, charger
DCS356B 20V MAX XR 0-13,000 / 17,000 / 20,000 OPM Tool, two wood blades
DCS356D1 20V MAX XR 3-speed selector Tool, 28 attachments, 2.0Ah battery, charger
DCS354B 20V MAX ATOMIC Variable trigger, max not specified Tool, two wood blades, adapter
Synxiter 20V Third-party, DeWalt 20V battery 6 settings, 6,000-21,000 OPM Tool, 22-piece accessory kit
DCS353B 12V MAX XTREME Up to 18,000 OPM Tool, two blades, adaptor

Figures in this table are copied from the Amazon listings for these models.

NOTES

Buying Tips for DeWalt Oscillating Multi-Tools

Start with batteries. DeWalt 20V MAX and 12V MAX packs are separate platforms, so the smartest DeWalt oscillating tool comparison begins with what already sits on your charger. If you own 20V packs, a bare tool like the DCS356B or DCS354B saves you from stockpiling batteries you do not need. If you own nothing, a kit such as the DCS356C1 or DCS356D1 gets you working immediately.

Next, think about speed control. Oscillating tools do very different jobs, from scraping adhesive to plunge cutting hardwood, and those jobs want different speeds. A dedicated 3-speed selector like the one on the DCS356 family lets you lock a range and still fine-tune with the trigger, which is useful when you move from cutting to sanding. Every DeWalt model here uses a universal accessory adaptor, so you are not locked into one brand of blades.

Finally, weigh the box against your project list. The DCS356D1’s 28 attachments are great for a whole-room renovation, while a lean bare tool makes more sense if you already have favorite blades. If you are building a yard kit on the same 20V batteries, the DeWalt 20V pruner is another tool that shares those packs.

FAQ

What is the difference between the DCS356C1, DCS356B and DCS356D1?

They are the same brushless 3-speed XR oscillating tool sold in different boxes. The DCS356B is the bare tool with two wood blades, the DCS356C1 adds a battery and charger, and the DCS356D1 adds a 2.0Ah battery, charger and 28 attachments.

Is the ATOMIC DCS354B weaker than the XR DCS356?

The listings do not give a maximum OPM for the DCS354B, so a direct speed comparison is not possible. What the listing does show is a more compact body and no mention of a 3-speed selector, with speed controlled by the variable trigger.

Can I use a DeWalt 20V battery in the XTREME 12V DCS353B?

No. The DCS353B belongs to the 12V MAX platform, and its battery is not included. You need a DeWalt 12V MAX battery to run it.

Is the Cordless Oscillating Tool for Dewalt 20V made by DeWalt?

No. The listing states that the tool is made by Synxiter and is only compatible with DeWalt 20V batteries. It is sold as a bare tool with accessories, and support comes from the seller rather than DeWalt.

Do DeWalt oscillating tools accept other brands of blades?

Every DeWalt model here includes a universal accessory adaptor that the listings say works with most oscillating tool accessory brands, alongside the Quick-Change system for tool-free swaps.

Which DeWalt oscillating tool should a beginner buy?

A beginner without batteries gets the most out of the DCS356D1 kit, since it includes a battery, charger and a large set of attachments. If you only need the essentials, the DCS356C1 covers the tool, battery and charger.