Which DEWALT 20V MAX Combo Kit Unlocks Your Next Build?
Every spec and price on this page is quoted from the Amazon listing for that model. Scores are out of 10, based on listed specifications and buyer feedback. Nothing here was handled or measured by us.
As Amazon Associates, we earn from qualifying purchases. This means we may receive a small commission at no extra cost to you if you click through and make a purchase.
The best 20 volt DEWALT combo kit is the one whose loadout matches the builds you actually do. If you are assembling a desk, wall-mounting a TV or bolting a sim-racing rig together, a two-tool drill and impact driver kit covers nearly every screw and pilot hole. If you are building out a game room, cutting shelving or remodeling, a multi-tool kit with saws, a grinder and an oscillating tool starts to pay for itself. Brushless motors matter most when you drive a lot of long fasteners or run tools all day; for weekend jobs, a brushed kit still gets it done.
We compared six DEWALT 20V MAX kits by their listings and specs, not by bench testing. Three are two-tool loadouts (the brushed DCK240C2, the brushless DCK277D2 and the XR hammer drill and impact DCK250QQ2), and three are bigger bundles: the 5-tool DCK551D1M1, the 9-tool DCK940D2 and the 10-tool DCK1021D2. Every battery here is part of the same 20V MAX platform, so whatever you start with keeps working as you add tools.
JOB SHEET
Which DEWALT 20V Combo Kit Should You Buy
- First kit for desk builds, TV mounts and shelves: DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Impact Driver (DCK240C2).
- The biggest loadout in a single box: DEWALT 20V MAX Power Tool Combo (DCK1021D2).
go to no. 02 - Drilling plus real cutting for woodworking projects: DEWALT Tools 5 Tool Power Tool kit (DCK551D1M1).
- Full remodels with a grinder and right angle drill: DEWALT 20V MAX Power Tools 9-tool kit (DCK940D2).
- Brushless upgrade without extra tools: DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill brushless kit (DCK277D2).
go to no. 05 - Concrete anchors and heavy lag screws: DEWALT 20V MAX XR Impact Driver and hammer drill kit (DCK250QQ2).
go to no. 06
No. 01
of 6
Dewalt
DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Kit (DCK240C2)

8.6
/10
Our score
Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.
Best for
Masonry anchors and heavy fastening
Pros
- 2-speed hammer drill
- 1825 in-lbs impact torque
- Two XR POWERPACK batteries
Cons
- Heaviest two-tool kit here
- No bag listed
Best for
Brushless upgrade in a compact pair
Pros
- Brushless drill and impact
- Compact 7.6 in drill length
- LED with 20-second delay
Cons
- No hammer mode listed
- Only two tools
Best for
Whole-house projects and remodels
Pros
- 9 tools including grinder
- Right angle drill for tight joists
- Bluetooth jobsite speaker
- 3-year limited warranty
Cons
- Brushless not stated
- Two 2Ah-class batteries shared widely
Best for
Maximum tool count in one box
Pros
- 10 tools with two bags
- Brushless per listing title
- Includes speaker, light, vacuum
Cons
- Only two 2Ah batteries for 10 tools
- Full tool list not itemized
Best for
First-time kit for desk and rig builds
Pros
- Compact drill and impact driver
- LED lights with 20-second delay
- Two batteries, charger, bag
- 3-year limited warranty
Cons
- Brushed motors
- Only two tools
The DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill kit in DCK240C2 form is the classic starter loadout: a DCD771 1/2 inch compact drill/driver and a 1/4 inch impact driver, two 20V MAX batteries, a charger and a storage bag. The listing describes the impact driver as 5.55 inches long at 2.8 pounds and the drill as 7.5 inches at 3.6 pounds, so both slip behind a desk or inside a cabinet easily. The description names the impact driver as DCF88M2, which looks like a typo in the listing, so check the box contents if the exact model matters to you.
Both tools have LED work lights with a 20-second delay, the impact driver has a one-handed-loading 1/4 inch hex chuck that accepts 1 inch bit tips, and the drill uses a 1/2 inch single sleeve ratcheting chuck. The listing marks the finish as brushed, and it carries a 3-year limited warranty. This is the right kit if your projects are furniture, mounts and occasional repairs. If you drive long screws into framing often, the brushless DCK277D2 is the better long-term pair. For a deeper look at single-tool options, see our guide to the DEWALT 20 volt cordless drill lineup.
No. 02
of 6
Dewalt
DEWALT 20V MAX Power Tool Combo (DCK1021D2)

9.4
/10
Our score
Well rated
Scored 9.2/10 or higher
Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.
The DEWALT 20V MAX Power Tool Combo is the maximum loadout: 10 DEWALT 20V MAX tools, one charger, two 20V MAX 2Ah batteries and two large contractor bags. The title calls it a brushless combo kit. The listing does not itemize all 10 tools, but its features mention a compact 7.6 inch drill with variable speed trigger, the DCS381 reciprocating saw with keyless blade clamp, the DCL040 LED work light, a grinder with a quick-change wheel release, a Bluetooth speaker that runs on 12V or 20V MAX packs, and a vacuum with dual cleanup modes.
The spec sheet lists 531 in-lbs of torque and 1,500 RPM, most likely for the drill. The big caveat is batteries: two 2Ah packs will be stretched thin across 10 tools, so plan on adding larger packs if you use the saws a lot. This kit suits someone outfitting a garage or a first home in one move. If you want fewer tools with more cutting focus, the 5-tool kit is leaner.
- 10 tools, two 2Ah batteries, charger, two contractor bags
- Reciprocating saw with keyless blade clamp
- LED work light, Bluetooth speaker and vacuum
- Grinder with tool-free wheel changes
No. 03
of 6
Dewalt
DEWALT Tools 5 Tool Power Tool Combo Kit (DCK551D1M1)

8.6
/10
Our score
Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.
Best for
Adding saws for real woodworking
Pros
- Circular and reciprocating saws
- Oscillating multi-tool included
- 6-1/2 in carbide circular blade
Cons
- Battery capacities not listed
- 25-pound total weight
The DEWALT Tools 5 Tool Power Tool kit adds real cutting power to the drill and impact core. It includes the DCD771 drill/driver rated at 300 unit watts out, the DCF885 impact driver at 5.55 inches front to back, the DCS381 reciprocating saw with keyless blade clamp, the DCS393 circular saw with a 6-1/2 inch carbide blade that cuts a 2×4 at 45 degrees in one pass, and an oscillating multi-tool named in the title.
The listing includes two lithium-ion batteries and a charger but does not state their capacities in the feature list, and it gives a total weight of 25 pounds. It suits anyone building shelves, custom desks or cable-management panels who needs to cut lumber and trim drywall, without paying for a speaker or light they will not use. If you want a grinder and right angle drill too, step up to the 9-tool kit.
No. 04
of 6
Dewalt
DEWALT 20V MAX Power Tools 9-Tool Combo (DCK940D2)

8.4
/10
Our score
Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.
The DEWALT 20V MAX Power Tools kit sold as DCK940D2 packs nine tools: the DCD771 drill at 300 unit watts out, the DCF885 impact driver with three LEDs and a 20-second delay, the DCS381 reciprocating saw, the DCS393 circular saw, an oscillating tool with quick-change accessories, a 110 lumen LED work light, a 4-1/2 inch grinder with a 7,000 RPM motor, a Bluetooth jobsite speaker and a right angle drill. Two batteries, a charger and a 3-year limited warranty round it out.
The right angle drill is the sleeper here, ideal for running cable through joists or studs when you are wiring a media room. The listing does not describe the motors as brushless. Compared with the 10-tool kit, you trade the vacuum for a right angle drill; pick based on which you will use more. Readers building out a full collection can browse our DEWALT 20V power tools roundup.
- Nine tools including grinder and right angle drill
- Circular saw cuts a 2×4 at 45 degrees in one pass
- 110 lumen LED work light and Bluetooth speaker
- 3-year limited warranty
No. 05
of 6
Dewalt
DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill Brushless Kit (DCK277D2)

8.2
/10
Our score
Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.
The DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill kit in DCK277D2 form is the brushless version of the starter pair. It includes the DCD777 1/2 inch drill/driver and DCF787 1/4 inch impact driver, two 2.0Ah compact batteries, a charger and a contractor bag. The drill is 7.6 inches front to back, with an ergonomic grip, variable speed trigger, LED with 20-second delay and a quick release hex chuck.
The spec block lists 1,500 in-lbs of torque and 2,800 RPM, figures that most likely describe the impact driver. Warranty terms listed are a 3-year limited warranty, a 1-year free service contract and a 90-day money back guarantee. Brushless motors generally run cooler and get more work out of each charge, which is why this kit is worth choosing over the DCK240C2 if you fasten a lot. It gives way to the DCK250QQ2 when you need a hammer drill for masonry.
No. 06
of 6
Dewalt
DEWALT 20V MAX XR Impact Driver and Hammer Drill Kit (DCK250QQ2)

8.4
/10
Our score
Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.
The DEWALT 20V MAX XR Impact Driver kit is the heavy hitter. It pairs the DCD806 2-speed hammer drill, which DEWALT calls its most powerful 20V MAX hammer drill at up to 109% more power, with 0-650 and 0-2,000 RPM ranges, and the DCF845 brushless impact driver rated at 1,825 in-lbs of torque and 3,400 RPM. Two 20V MAX XR POWERPACK batteries and a charger come in the kit.
Hammer mode is what sets it apart: drilling into brick or concrete for a garage wall mount or outdoor projector anchor is its job. The listing gives an item weight of 4.84 kg and does not mention a bag. It is overkill for desk assembly, but if your builds reach into masonry, no other kit here covers that. Anyone comparing single drills should also read our DEWALT 20V MAX drill guide.
What Sets These Models Apart
| Kit | Tool count | Motor type | Standout tool |
|---|---|---|---|
| DCK240C2 | 2 | Brushed | Compact drill and impact pair |
| DCK1021D2 | 10 | Brushless per title | Vacuum and speaker included |
| DCK551D1M1 | 5 | The listing does not specify | Circular saw and oscillating tool |
| DCK940D2 | 9 | The listing does not specify | Grinder and right angle drill |
| DCK277D2 | 2 | Brushless | Compact brushless drill |
| DCK250QQ2 | 2 | Brushless impact | 2-speed hammer drill |
Figures in this table are copied from the Amazon listings for these models.
NOTES
Buying Tips for DEWALT 20V Combo Kits
Count batteries per tool. Every kit here ships with two batteries, but two packs across ten tools is a very different experience from two packs across a drill and impact driver. Big kits are best seen as a tool library that you power with extra, larger packs later, while two-tool kits are ready to work out of the box.
Decide on brushless by workload. Brushless motors are more efficient and typically last longer under heavy use, so they suit people who drive hundreds of screws or long lag bolts. If your plan is a few desk builds and wall mounts a year, a brushed pair like the DCK240C2 is plenty. Hammer drilling is its own category: only the DCK250QQ2 lists a hammer drill here.
Finally, think about what you will build next. If a game room or home theater is on the horizon, a kit with a circular saw and oscillating tool saves a second purchase. Since all the tools share the 20V MAX platform, you can also start small and add bare tools later.
FAQ
Are all these DEWALT kits compatible with the same batteries?
Yes. They are all 20V MAX kits, and the DCK1021D2 listing notes its tools work with all DEWALT 20V MAX batteries and chargers.
What is the difference between the DCK240C2 and DCK277D2?
Both are drill and impact driver pairs. The DCK240C2 is listed as brushed, while the DCK277D2 uses brushless DCD777 and DCF787 tools with two 2.0Ah batteries.
Which DEWALT combo kit is best for drilling into concrete?
The DCK250QQ2, because it includes the DCD806 2-speed hammer drill. None of the other kits here list a hammer drill.
Is the 10-tool kit worth it over the 9-tool kit?
The 10-tool DCK1021D2 is listed as brushless and includes a vacuum, while the 9-tool DCK940D2 adds a right angle drill and grinder. Choose based on which tools you will actually use.
Which kit is best for building a gaming desk or mounting a TV?
A two-tool kit like the DCK240C2 or the brushless DCK277D2 handles furniture assembly, pilot holes and wall mounts. Add saws only if you are cutting your own panels.



