Which Blink Starter Kit Covers Your Home Best?
Every spec and price on this page is quoted from the Amazon listing for that model. Scores are out of 10, based on listed specifications and buyer feedback. Nothing here was handled or measured by us.
As Amazon Associates, we earn from qualifying purchases. This means we may receive a small commission at no extra cost to you if you click through and make a purchase.
The best Blink starter kit depends on two numbers: how many spots you need to watch and how far those spots are from your router. For a typical house with a front door and a couple of outdoor angles, the Blink Video Doorbell bundle with three Outdoor 4 cameras is the most complete loadout. For a small place, the two-camera Outdoor 4 kit covers the basics. For a large home that wants sharper video, the five-camera Outdoor 2K+ kit steps up to 2K resolution.
This article covers six Blink kits. Four are new systems built around the Outdoor 4 family, one is the newer Outdoor 2K+, and one is a like-new, refurbished Outdoor 4 two-camera kit, which we flag clearly because it is not a factory-fresh unit. They differ in camera count, video resolution, whether a doorbell or floodlight is included, and which Sync Module sits at the center, which decides range and local storage.
JOB SHEET
Which Blink Starter Kit Should You Buy
- Front door plus yard coverage in one box: Blink Video Doorbell bundle
go to no. 01 - Apartments and small homes: Blink Outdoor 4 two-camera kit
go to no. 02 - Larger homes that want 2K detail and zoom: Blink Outdoor 2K+ five-camera kit
go to no. 03 - Big properties with outbuildings or long driveways: Blink Outdoor 4 XR
go to no. 04 - Getting started on a tight budget with refurbished gear: Like-New Blink Outdoor 4
go to no. 05 - A dark side of the house that needs light as well as video: Blink Outdoor 4 Floodlight Camera
go to no. 06
No. 01
of 6
Blink
Blink Video Doorbell

9.0
/10
Our score
Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.
Best for
Front door plus three outdoor angles
Pros
- Doorbell and three Outdoor 4 cameras
- Head-to-toe doorbell view
- Sync Module Core included
Cons
- Core module has no local storage
- Smart alerts need subscription
The Blink Video Doorbell bundle is the fullest starter kit in this lineup. The box includes one second-generation Video Doorbell, three Outdoor 4 cameras, one Sync Module Core, nine AA Energizer lithium batteries, mounting kits for each device, a wall plate, a doorbell removal tool, wire extenders, a USB cable and a power cord. That is four devices ready to go, which is enough to cover the porch and three other angles on most houses.
The doorbell gives a head-to-toe HD view with infrared night vision and two-way talk through the Blink app, which is handy for spotting a package drop while you are mid-match and cannot get to the door. The Outdoor 4 cameras stream 1080p HD live view and use dual-zone motion detection. Blink rates both devices for up to two years of battery life on the included lithium AAs. Cloud storage comes with a 30-day free trial of a Blink Subscription Plan, and features like person detection and Blink Moments need that plan.
- Doorbell plus three Outdoor 4 cameras
- Head-to-toe HD doorbell view, 1080p HD live view on cameras
- Up to two years of battery life
If you only need cameras and no doorbell, the two-camera Outdoor 4 kit is a leaner start.
No. 02
of 6
Blink
Blink Outdoor 4

9.0
/10
Our score
Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.
Best for
Dark side yards and back doors
Pros
- 700 lumens motion-triggered light
- Wire-free install
- Sync Module Core included
Cons
- Single camera only
- Local storage needs extra module
Best for
Big yards, barns and long driveways
Pros
- Up to 400 ft typical range
- 900MHz band avoids WiFi congestion
- Local storage via MicroSD
Cons
- 1080p class Outdoor 4 cameras
- MicroSD card sold separately
Best for
Small homes starting with two cameras
Pros
- Two cameras plus Sync Module Core
- Dual-zone motion detection
- Works with Alexa
Cons
- No local storage on Core module
- 1080p rather than 2K
The Blink Outdoor 4 two-camera system is the entry point. It includes two Outdoor 4 cameras, one Sync Module Core, four AA Energizer lithium batteries, two mounting kits, a USB-C cable and a power adapter. Blink calls it its most affordable wireless smart security camera, and it keeps the core features: 1080p HD live view, infrared night vision, two-way audio and dual-zone motion detection.
One detail to understand before buying: the listing states plainly that the Sync Module Core does not offer local storage. Your options are the cloud through a Blink Subscription Plan, or swapping in a Sync Module XR with a MicroSD card or a Sync Module 2 with a USB flash drive, both sold separately. Person detection also needs the subscription. It works with Alexa for voice arming and multi-camera live view. Think of this as a front and back door kit for an apartment or small home, and a base you can add cameras to later.
No. 03
of 6
Blink
Blink Outdoor 2K+

8.4
/10
Our score
Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.
Best for
Larger homes wanting sharper 2K video
Pros
- 2K resolution with 4x zoom
- Color Vision in low light
- IP-65 weather resistance
- Five-camera system
Cons
- Person and vehicle alerts need subscription
The Blink Outdoor 2K+ is the newest model in this group, and this listing is a five-camera system in black. The jump in resolution is the headline: 2K video, plus up to 4x zoom for checking a license plate or a delivery label. It also adds Color Vision, which keeps footage in color under ambient low light before switching to infrared black and white.
Audio gets an upgrade too, with two-way talk and noise cancellation. The camera carries an IP-65 weather-resistant design, which the listing calls the Blink Weather Shield. Like the others, it runs up to two years on AA Energizer lithium batteries and includes a Sync Module. Person and vehicle detection need a Blink Subscription Plan. With five cameras, this suits larger homes that want every side covered and care about picture clarity, the way you would choose a higher-resolution monitor if you notice the detail.
- 2K resolution with 4x zoom
- Color Vision in low light
- IP-65 weather resistance
- Noise-cancelling two-way audio
No. 04
of 6
Blink
Blink Outdoor 4 XR

9.6
/10
Our score
Well rated
Scored 9.2/10 or higher
Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.
The Blink Outdoor 4 XR is a four-camera system built around the Sync Module XR, and range is its entire reason for existing. The listing says you can place cameras up to 1000 feet from the module in open air, or 400 feet in typical use, which it describes as 4x farther than Blink cameras on WiFi alone. It runs on the 900MHz band to avoid WiFi congestion, with claims of 20% faster live view access and up to 70% fewer disconnects.
This is the kit for properties where the router cannot reach: a detached garage, a shed, a gate at the end of the drive. Battery life is still rated at up to two years with the included Energizer lithium AAs. Local storage is supported through the Sync Module XR with a MicroSD card up to 256 GB, sold separately, alongside the cloud option. The app can control up to 10 Blink devices. If your home is compact, the range is overkill and the standard kit makes more sense. For a different kind of starter bundle for the house, our smart lighting starter kit guide pairs well with a camera setup.
No. 05
of 6
Blink
Like-New Blink Outdoor 4

8.8
/10
Our score
Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.
Best for
Value seekers fine with refurbished
Pros
- Refurbished with same limited warranty
- Includes Sync Module 2 for USB storage
- 143° diagonal field of view
Cons
- Like-new unit, not brand new
- May ship in generic box
The Like-New Blink Outdoor 4 is a refurbished two-camera kit. The listing says it is tested and certified to look and work like new, comes with the same limited warranty as a new device, and may ship in a generic Amazon-branded box. That is worth knowing up front if you plan to give it as a gift.
There is also a real hardware difference from the new two-camera kit: this one includes a Sync Module 2 rather than a Sync Module Core, and the listing says Sync Module 2 supports local storage with a USB drive sold separately. The listing also gives more specs than the others: 1080p HD video, a 143° diagonal field of view, up to 30 fps, 2.4 GHz WiFi, and a camera size of 2.8 x 2.8 x 1.6 inches at 5.0 oz. It suits budget-minded buyers who want local storage without a subscription and do not mind a refurbished unit.
- Refurbished with the same limited warranty as new
- Includes Sync Module 2 for USB local storage
- 143° diagonal field of view, up to 30 fps
No. 06
of 6
Blink
Blink Outdoor 4 Floodlight Camera

8.0
/10
Our score
Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.
The Blink Outdoor 4 Floodlight Camera is a one-camera system with 700 lumens of motion-triggered LED lighting. It keeps the Outdoor 4 features, including 1080p HD live view, infrared night vision, two-way audio and dual-zone motion detection, and it installs wire-free wherever you want light.
It runs on two AA Energizer lithium batteries with a Sync Module included, and the listing claims up to two years of coverage. Local backup requires a Sync Module XR and MicroSD card, each sold separately. With only one camera, this is best as a starter for a single dark area or as an add-on to a larger system. If you like wire-free gear that just installs anywhere, the same logic applies to a cordless tool combo kit for handling the mounting work.
What Sets These Models Apart
| Kit | Devices | Video | Sync Module |
|---|---|---|---|
| Blink Video Doorbell bundle | Doorbell + 3 cameras | HD doorbell, 1080p cameras | Core |
| Blink Outdoor 4 | 2 cameras | 1080p | Core |
| Blink Outdoor 2K+ | 5 cameras | 2K, 4x zoom | Included, type not specified |
| Blink Outdoor 4 XR | 4 cameras | Listing does not specify | XR, long range |
| Like-New Blink Outdoor 4 | 2 cameras, refurbished | 1080p | Sync Module 2 |
| Outdoor 4 Floodlight | 1 camera + 700 lm light | 1080p | Core |
Figures in this table are copied from the Amazon listings for these models.
NOTES
Buying Tips for Blink Security Camera Kits
Count your angles first. Walk around your home and list every door, gate and driveway you care about. Two cameras cover a small place, four or more covers a typical house, and a doorbell handles the front step better than a wall-mounted camera because of its head-to-toe view.
Next, check the Sync Module. The Sync Module Core is the simplest hub but has no local storage, so recorded clips go to the cloud through a subscription. Sync Module 2 supports a USB drive and the Sync Module XR supports a MicroSD card and long range. If you want to avoid ongoing fees for storage, that choice matters more than the cameras.
Finally, weigh resolution against range. The Outdoor 2K+ gives the sharpest picture and zoom, while the XR kit is about reaching far corners reliably. Pick the one that solves your actual problem.
FAQ
Does the Blink Sync Module Core record locally?
No. The Outdoor 4 listing states that the Sync Module Core does not offer local storage. You can use cloud storage with a Blink Subscription Plan, or use a Sync Module XR or Sync Module 2 for local backup.
What is the difference between Blink Outdoor 4 and Outdoor 2K+?
The Outdoor 4 streams 1080p HD live view. The Outdoor 2K+ adds 2K resolution, up to 4x zoom, Color Vision in low light, noise-cancelling audio and an IP-65 weather-resistant design.
How far can Blink Outdoor 4 XR cameras be from the hub?
Up to 1000 feet in open air or 400 feet in typical use from the Sync Module XR, according to the listing.
Is the Like-New Blink Outdoor 4 a used product?
It is refurbished. The listing says it is tested and certified to look and work like new and carries the same limited warranty as a new device.
Do I need a Blink subscription?
Not to view live video. Features like person detection, vehicle detection on the 2K+, Blink Moments and cloud clip storage need a plan, and each kit includes a 30-day free trial.



