BLACK+DECKER 12V Drills Compared for Desk Builds and Home Fixes
Every figure on this page is quoted from the Amazon listing for that model. Scores are the average rating Amazon buyers left. Nothing here was handled or measured by us.
As Amazon Associates, we earn from qualifying purchases. This means we may receive a small commission at no extra cost to you if you click through and make a purchase.
A BLACK+DECKER cordless drill 12V model is the sweet spot for most desk builds and home fixes. It is light enough to hold overhead while you mount a monitor arm or a shelf, yet it has enough torque to drive screws into furniture panels and wall anchors. For most readers, the BLACK+DECKER 12V MAX drill BDCDD12C is the simplest pick, and the 12V drill home tool kit adds everything else you need to start.
This BLACK+DECKER drill comparison covers six models: three 12V drills (the BDCDD12C, the BDCDD12PK kit and the reviva REVCDD12C), two 20V MAX POWERCONNECT kits and one 8V MAX drill. The 12V models balance weight and power, the 20V MAX kits add more torque and battery sharing across tools, and the 8V MAX is the lightest for small household jobs. Here is how to choose the right one for your setup.
JOB SHEET
Which BLACK+DECKER Drill Should You Buy
- A compact drill for desk builds and monitor mounts: BLACK+DECKER 12V MAX drill BDCDD12C
- A first toolkit with a drill and 59 extras: BLACK+DECKER 12V drill home tool kit BDCDD12PK
- An eco-conscious drill for light assembly: BLACK+DECKER reviva 12V drill
- More torque for drilling into tougher materials: BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX drill LD120VA
- A full 100-piece kit for a new home: BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX BDC120VA100
- The lightest drill for pictures and flat-pack furniture: BLACK+DECKER 8V MAX drill
No. 01
of 6
Black+Decker
BLACK+DECKER 12V MAX Cordless Drill Driver

4.5
out of 5
Amazon buyer average
Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.
Best for
First-time owners needing a full tool kit
Pros
- 59 hand tools and accessories
- Carrying bag included
- Battery holds charge up to 18 months
- Mid-handle design with LED
Cons
- Clutch positions not specified
- Chuck size listed inconsistently
Best for
Desk builds and monitor mounts in tight spots
Pros
- Compact 2.18 lb design
- 11-position clutch
- LED work light
- Removable battery and charger included
Cons
- 550 rpm top speed
- Drill only, no bits listed
The BLACK+DECKER 12V MAX Cordless Drill Driver (BDCDD12C) is the core 12V pick. It weighs 2.18 lbs, and BLACK+DECKER says it is 35 percent smaller than the older 12V NiCad version. It runs up to 550 rpm, and the listing gives 26 Nm of max torque, which is roughly 230 in-lbs, enough for most furniture and wall-mounting tasks.
An 11-position clutch lets you dial down the force so you do not strip screws in particleboard desk panels, a common problem with flat-pack furniture. A keyless chuck makes bit changes quick, and the LED work light helps when you are working under a desk or behind a TV. The battery and charger are included, and the listing gives a 10mm chuck. The spec sheet lists two speeds, though the features do not explain the second speed.
This drill suits gamers building a desk setup, mounting monitor arms or putting up shelves. It comes without bits, so if you need a full kit, the BDCDD12PK is the better bundle. For heavy drilling into masonry or thick hardwood, one of the 20V MAX models adds more torque.
- 11-position clutch for precise screw driving
- Compact 2.18 lb body
- LED work light
- Keyless chuck
No. 02
of 6
Black+Decker
BLACK+DECKER 12V MAX Drill and Home Tool Kit

4.1
out of 5
Amazon buyer average
Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.
The BLACK+DECKER 12V MAX Drill & Home Tool Kit (BDCDD12PK) pairs a 12V MAX lithium drill/driver with 59 hand tools and accessories for DIY projects and household tasks. It comes in a carrying bag, so everything stays in one place. The drill uses a mid-handle design for comfort and control, has an LED light, and its lithium ion battery holds a charge for up to 18 months.
The listing gives a torque of 25 Nm, close to the BDCDD12C’s 26 Nm. It lists a maximum chuck size of 0.5 inches, while the BDCDD12C lists 10mm, so the chuck size is not consistent across these two listings. The listing does not specify clutch positions or speed. It also does not break down exactly which 59 tools are included.
This kit is the best starting point for anyone moving into a first apartment or building a battlestation with no existing tools. If you already own screwdrivers, bits and a level, the standalone BDCDD12C avoids duplicate gear. For more bundle options, see our guide to the Black and Decker drill set lineup.
No. 03
of 6
Black+Decker
BLACK+DECKER reviva 12V Cordless Drill

4.7
out of 5
Amazon buyer average
Well rated
4.6 or better out of 5 on Amazon
Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.
Best for
Eco-minded DIYers doing light assembly
Pros
- Housing uses 50% recycled material
- 230 in-lbs max torque
- Over 400 screws per charge
- Keyless chuck
Cons
- Integrated, non-swappable battery
- Speed figure unclear in listing
The BLACK+DECKER reviva 12V Cordless Drill (REVCDD12C) stands out for its materials: the housing uses Tritan Renew with 50 percent certified recycled material, equal in weight to eight 16.9 fl oz plastic bottles. It delivers 230 in-lbs of max torque, which suits drilling and driving into wood, metal or plastic.
BLACK+DECKER says it can drill over 200 holes and drive over 400 screws on a single charge. It has a keyless chuck, variable speed and an adjustable clutch, and the description recommends starting at a low setting and increasing it to avoid damage. It uses an integrated battery, so you cannot swap packs. The spec sheet lists a max speed of 230 rpm, which matches the torque figure and may be an error, so the listing does not reliably specify speed.
The reviva suits eco-conscious DIYers doing furniture assembly and light home fixes. For removable batteries and a larger tool ecosystem, the 20V MAX POWERCONNECT models are more flexible.
No. 04
of 6
Black+Decker
BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX POWERCONNECT Power Drill

4.5
out of 5
Amazon buyer average, 39,047 ratings
MATERIALS
- Light weight
- 24 position clutch
- Blend
- Plastic Metal
- #4
- 581 in Tools & Home Improvement (See Top 100 in Tools & Home Improvement) #12 in Power Drill Drivers
- 4.5 4.5 out of 5 stars (39
- 047) 4.5 out of 5 stars
Copied from the Amazon listing for this model.
Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.
Best for
Heavier drilling with a starter bit set
Pros
- 300 in-lb max torque
- 24-position clutch
- 750 rpm
- 30-piece accessory set
Cons
- Heavier than 12V models
- 5 Ah battery
The BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX POWERCONNECT Power Drill (LD120VA) is where the BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX drill starts to justify the extra heft. It lists 300 in-lb of max torque and 750 rpm, both higher than the 12V models, plus a 24-position clutch that gives finer control over screw depth.
The kit includes a 1.5 Ah lithium ion battery, a charger and 30 accessories: 6 brad point drill bits, 10 one-inch screwdriving bits, 9 two-inch screwdriving bits, 4 nut drivers and a magnetic bit tip holder. The battery holds a charge for up to 18 months, and it works with other tools in the POWERCONNECT system. A soft-grip handle adds comfort.
This drill suits anyone who wants more power for drilling into studs or hardwood, and who might later add other POWERCONNECT tools. For pure desk assembly, a 12V model is lighter and easier to handle. If you already use a Black and Decker cordless hedge trimmer in the same battery family, check battery compatibility before buying.
No. 05
of 6
Black+Decker
BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX* POWERCONNECT Cordless Drill

4.0
out of 5
Amazon buyer average
Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.
Best for
Stocking a whole home toolbox at once
Pros
- 100-piece bit and socket kit
- 24-position clutch
- POWERCONNECT battery sharing
Cons
- Torque and speed figures conflict
- Bulkier than 12V drills
The BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX* POWERCONNECT Cordless Drill kit (BDC120VA100) bundles the drill with a 100-piece set of bits, sockets and accessories. It keeps the 24-position clutch, soft-grip handle and POWERCONNECT battery system, and the battery and charger are included.
The listing’s performance numbers do not line up. It gives a max torque of 150 in-lb in one field and 300 in-lb in another, and speeds of 650 rpm and 1700 rpm. Expect performance similar to the LD120VA, but the listing does not settle the exact figures. The full contents of the 100-piece kit are not itemized.
This kit suits readers setting up a home workshop from scratch who want one purchase that covers drilling, driving and socket work. If you only need the drill, the LD120VA with its 30-piece set is more focused.
No. 06
of 6
Black+Decker
BLACK+DECKER 8V MAX Cordless Drill Driver

4.9
out of 5
Amazon buyer average
Well rated
4.6 or better out of 5 on Amazon
Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.
Best for
Hanging pictures and light furniture assembly
Pros
- Ultra lightweight at 1.32 lbs
- Keyless 3/8-inch chuck
- Mid-handle balance
Cons
- Single speed, 400 rpm
- Built-in battery, jack plug charging
The BLACK+DECKER 8V MAX Cordless Drill Driver (BDCD8C) is the lightest here at 1.32 lbs, with a 400 rpm single-speed motor. It has a 3/8-inch keyless chuck, a mid-handle design for balance and a double-sided bit to get started.
The battery is integrated and recharges with a jack plug charger that plugs into the wall. The spec sheet lists a max torque of 310 in-lb, which seems unusually high for an 8V drill and is higher than the 20V models’ listed torque, so treat that figure with caution. The BLACK+DECKER 8V MAX drill suits hanging pictures, assembling light furniture and small household tasks. For desk builds with lots of screws, the 12V MAX models give you more headroom.
What Sets These Models Apart
| Model | Voltage | Max speed | Torque (listed) | Included extras |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| BDCDD12C | 12V | 550 rpm | 26 Nm | Battery and charger |
| BDCDD12PK | 12V | Not specified | 25 Nm | 59 tools and bag |
| reviva REVCDD12C | 12V | Unclear | 230 in-lb | Integrated battery |
| LD120VA | 20V | 750 rpm | 300 in-lb | 30 accessories |
| BDC120VA100 | 20V | 650 or 1700 rpm | 150 or 300 in-lb | 100-piece kit |
| BDCD8C | 8V | 400 rpm | 310 in-lb (questionable) | Double-sided bit |
Figures in this table are copied from the Amazon listings for these models.
NOTES
Buying Tips for BLACK+DECKER Drills
Match the voltage to your projects. A 12V drill is ideal for furniture, desk builds and wall mounts, where control and low weight matter more than raw power. 20V MAX drills add torque for thicker wood and masonry anchors. The 8V MAX is best reserved for the lightest household tasks.
Pay attention to the clutch. The clutch limits torque so screws stop at the right depth. More positions, like the 24 on the 20V MAX models or 11 on the BDCDD12C, give finer control, which helps avoid cracking particleboard or stripping screw heads.
Finally, decide whether you want removable batteries. The BDCDD12C and 20V MAX models use removable packs, while the reviva and 8V MAX use integrated batteries. Removable packs are easier to swap and, in the POWERCONNECT system, can be shared with other tools.
FAQ
Is a BLACK+DECKER 12V drill strong enough for desk assembly?
Yes. The BDCDD12C lists 26 Nm of torque and an 11-position clutch, which suits furniture screws and wall mounts.
What comes in the BLACK+DECKER 12V drill home tool kit?
The BDCDD12PK includes a 12V MAX drill, 59 hand tools and accessories and a carrying bag. The listing does not itemize the tools.
Does the reviva 12V drill have a removable battery?
No. The description says it has an integrated battery.
Which BLACK+DECKER drill has the most torque?
The LD120VA lists 300 in-lb. The 8V MAX lists 310 in-lb, but that figure looks inconsistent for an 8V drill.
Can I use a 20V MAX POWERCONNECT battery in other tools?
The listings say the POWERCONNECT battery can be used with other tools in the POWERCONNECT system.



