Skip to content
KitSift.net Specs and prices read off the listing
Tools & Garden

ACMER CNC and Laser Engravers: Which Machine to Pick

6 models on the list September 23, 2026 8 min read

Every figure on this page is quoted from the Amazon listing for that model. Scores are the average rating Amazon buyers left. Nothing here was handled or measured by us.

As Amazon Associates, we earn from qualifying purchases. This means we may receive a small commission at no extra cost to you if you click through and make a purchase.

An ACMER CNC engraving machine can mean two very different tools: a spindle-driven CNC router that physically carves material, or a diode laser engraver that burns and cuts with light. If you want to mill pockets into an arcade control panel, carve a raised logo into a walnut headphone stand or cut aluminum-adjacent parts, a CNC router is the right tool. If you want fast, detailed engravings on custom controller plates, wood coasters and leather desk mats, a laser engraver is faster and easier to learn.

This ACMER engraver comparison covers six machines: two Ascarva CNC routers (the 4S with a large work area and the 3S with a 500W spindle) and four diode lasers (the compact S1, two S2 12W listings and the S2 20W with air assist). They differ in power, work area and the safety and software features each listing includes. We compared listings, specifications and intended use rather than running our own cut tests.

JOB SHEET

Which ACMER Machine Should You Buy

  • Large laser projects with built-in AI design tools: ACMER S2 Laser Engraver (12W).
    go to no. 01
  • Carving large panels in wood, acrylic and MDF: ACMER Ascarva 4S CNC router.
  • Precision small parts with a powerful spindle: ACMER Ascarva 3S 500W CNC router.
  • Small, portable starter laser for tags and keychains: ACMER S1 Laser Engraver.
  • Thicker cuts with cleaner edges thanks to air assist: Acmer S2 20W Laser Engraver.
    go to no. 05
  • Family or classroom use with a cover and goggles in the box: ACMER S2 12W Laser Engraver with safety cover.

No. 01
of 6
Acmer

ACMER S2 Laser Engraver

ACMER S2 Laser Engraver
ACMER S2 Laser Engraver

4.3
out of 5
Amazon buyer average


See it on Amazon

Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.

Best for
Classrooms and safety-minded households

Pros

  • Anti-UV cover and goggles
  • Motion-triggered auto pause
  • Supports 4W to 12W heads

Cons

  • Model number reads S1.1
  • Rotary sold separately

Best for
Makers wanting AI-assisted design software

Pros

  • 12W laser, 72W system power
  • 300×300 mm work area
  • AI text and photo tools

Cons

  • Safety gear not mentioned
  • Rotary sold separately

The ACMER S2 Laser Engraver is a 12W diode laser with 72W total system power and a large 300 x 300 mm work area. The listing claims a 0.08 x 0.08 mm spot with up to 0.01 mm engraving accuracy, and cutting of up to 15 mm paulownia wood and 12 mm black acrylic with multiple passes. A 32-bit chip drives engraving speed up to 10,000 mm/min.

The standout on this listing is software. ACMER’s free Acmerstudio includes AI tools that turn text prompts or photos into engraving designs, while still letting you use other familiar programs. It engraves over 100 materials, and optional rotary modules and risers (sold separately) handle tall or cylindrical objects such as tumblers.

This suits makers who want big-bed engraving for desk mats, controller plates and signs and who like AI-assisted design. The listing does not mention a protective cover or goggles, so the S2 listing with a safety kit may suit households with kids better.

  • 12W laser, 0.08 x 0.08 mm spot
  • 300 x 300 mm work area
  • Acmerstudio with AI design tools

No. 02
of 6
Acmer

ACMER Ascarva 4S CNC Router Machine

CNC Router Machine
CNC Router Machine

4.4
out of 5
Amazon buyer average


See it on Amazon

Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.

Best for
Precise small parts in harder materials

Pros

  • 500W 12,000 RPM spindle
  • ±0.025 mm repeatability
  • Emergency stop, six limit switches

Cons

  • 300 x 180 mm work area

The CNC Router Machine,ACMER Ascarva 4S CNC gives you the largest working area in this lineup at 15.7 x 15.7 x 3.7 inches. It carves wood, plastic, acrylic, MDF, epoxy tooling board and similar materials with a listed precision of plus or minus 0.1 mm. The stock spindle is 70W at 24V and 8000 RPM, with 120W total machine power, a maximum carving speed of 1000 mm/min and movement speed up to 5000 mm/min.

The spindle can be upgraded to a 500W unit, which lets the machine grow with you. Steel wheels on the X and Y axes are meant to improve stability and outlast rubber wheels. A 3.5-inch touch screen with a multilingual interface and a manual Z-axis height knob keep operation simple, and a modular design makes repairs and upgrades easier.

This is the pick for arcade panel builders and anyone carving larger pieces. With the stock 70W spindle it works best in softer materials and at moderate depths; for harder stock or faster material removal, the 3S with its 500W spindle is stronger out of the box.

No. 03
of 6
Acmer

CNC Router Machine, ACMER Ascarva 3S 500W

CNC Router Machine,ACMER Ascarva 4S CNC Milling Machine,70W 24V Spindle Power,15.7” x 15.7” x 3.7”,120W Whole Machine Power for Wood Plastic Acrylic MDF Carving Cutting

4.8
out of 5
Amazon buyer average


Well rated
4.6 or better out of 5 on Amazon


See it on Amazon

Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.

The CNC Router Machine listed as the ACMER Ascarva 3S packs a 500W 48V DC spindle reaching 12,000 RPM with an ER11 collet, and the listing claims plus or minus 0.025 mm repeat positioning accuracy. The title lists wood, plastic, metal, acrylic, MDF and nylon among target materials, though it does not specify which metals or recommended settings for them in the features shown.

The trade-off is a smaller 300 x 180 x 78 mm work area. The frame uses reinforced aluminum panels and extrusions with an 11.5 kg net weight. An ESP32 mainboard connects over USB to Windows, macOS or Linux, and it supports Candle, UGS and Easel with .nc and .gcode files. Safety includes an emergency stop and six limit switches, and ACMER includes a parameter table with settings for materials such as plywood, acrylic and PC board, plus a dedicated tool setter.

This suits makers who need precision and power for small parts: custom button plates, knobs, nameplates. For large panels, the 4S has the bigger bed.

  • 500W spindle, 12,000 RPM, ER11 collet
  • ±0.025 mm repeat positioning
  • Emergency stop and six limit switches

No. 04
of 6
Acmer

ACMER S1 Laser Engraver Machine

ACMER S1 Laser Engraver Machine
ACMER S1 Laser Engraver Machine

4.4
out of 5
Amazon buyer average


See it on Amazon

Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.

Best for
Beginners with small desk projects

Pros

  • 99% preassembled
  • 2 kg portable frame
  • LightBurn and LaserGRBL support

Cons

  • 130×130 mm work area
  • 5W cuts only thin stock

The ACMER S1 Laser Engraver Machine is the compact starter laser: 2500mW diode power, 24W machine output, 455 nm wavelength and a 130 x 130 mm work area. It still promises up to 10,000 mm/min engraving speed and 0.01 mm repeatable positioning accuracy. It engraves wood, bamboo, leather, plastic, PCB, ceramics and more, and cuts thin plywood, MDF and acrylic.

It arrives 99% preassembled with a one-minute laser head installation, weighs 2 kg, and measures 250 x 250 x 162 mm. It works with Acmerstudio, LightBurn and LaserGRBL on macOS, Windows and Linux, and carries Class 4 laser certification. Our wider ACMER laser engraver guide goes deeper on the laser side of the lineup.

The S1 suits beginners making keychains, badges and small gifts. If you need bigger pieces or deeper cuts, any S2 model is the step up.

No. 05
of 6
Acmer

Acmer S2 20W Laser Engraver

Acmer S2 20W Laser Engraver
Acmer S2 20W Laser Engraver

4.9
out of 5
Amazon buyer average


Well rated
4.6 or better out of 5 on Amazon


See it on Amazon

Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.

Best for
Deeper cuts with cleaner edges

Pros

  • 20W diode laser
  • 25L/min air assist included
  • 300×285 mm work area

Cons

  • Enclosure not mentioned

The Acmer S2 20W Laser Engraver is the most powerful laser here, with a 20W (20,000mW) diode module at 455 nm, the closest thing in the lineup to a true ACMER laser cutter. The spot is compressed to 0.09 x 0.1 mm with up to 0.01 mm accuracy, and the work area is 300 x 285 mm.

It includes a 25L/min air assist pump to reduce burn marks and improve cut edges, which matters on thicker wood and acrylic. Engraving speed reaches 10,000 mm/min with acceleration up to 300 mm/s². Built-in limit switches define the work area, and it supports NC, DXF, BMP, JPG and PNG files across Windows, macOS and Linux. The listing does not specify maximum cut depths or whether a cover or goggles are included.

Pick this for deeper cuts and cleaner edges. If you do not need the extra power, the 12W S2 models are simpler choices.

No. 06
of 6
Acmer

Laser Engraver, ACMER S2 12W with Safety Cover

Laser Engraver, ACMER S2 12W (12,000mW) Laser Cutter Machine, 72W Output, 0.01mm Precision, 300x300mm Area, 10000mm/min Speed, for Wood, Metal, Leather, Acrylic, DIY & Education

4.2
out of 5
Amazon buyer average


See it on Amazon

Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.

This Laser Engraver listing is the ACMER S2 12W again, with the same 0.08 x 0.08 mm spot, 0.01 mm accuracy, 72W system power, 300 x 300 mm work area and 10,000 mm/min speed as the first S2. It lists the same cutting claims of 15 mm paulownia and 12 mm black acrylic with multiple passes.

The difference is safety. This listing includes an anti-UV acrylic protective cover and safety goggles, and it automatically pauses if movement is detected during engraving. It also supports laser heads from 4W to 12W and works with Acmerstudio, LightBurn and LaserGRBL. One oddity: its model number reads GM-RYXT-S1.1-12W despite the S2 name, so confirm with the seller. For late build sessions, a compact drip coffee maker keeps the workshop running.

What Sets These Models Apart

Model Type Power Work area
ACMER S2 Laser Engraver Diode laser 12W laser 300 x 300 mm
ACMER Ascarva 4S CNC router 70W spindle 15.7 x 15.7 x 3.7 in
ACMER Ascarva 3S CNC router 500W spindle 300 x 180 x 78 mm
ACMER S1 Diode laser 2.5W laser 130 x 130 mm
Acmer S2 20W Diode laser 20W laser 300 x 285 mm
ACMER S2 12W with cover Diode laser 12W laser 300 x 300 mm

Figures in this table are copied from the Amazon listings for these models.

NOTES

Buying Tips for ACMER CNC and Laser Engravers

Decide between carving and burning first. A CNC router removes material to create depth, pockets and 3D relief, which is ideal for button cutouts in arcade panels. A laser marks surfaces and cuts sheet material quickly, which suits logos, text and photo engraving. Many makers end up owning both.

Match power to your thickest material. A 2.5W laser handles thin stock, 12W handles most hobby cutting with multiple passes, and 20W with air assist is best for thicker cuts. On the CNC side, spindle wattage decides how quickly you can remove material.

Plan ventilation and safety. Diode lasers produce smoke and require eye protection, and routers throw chips and noise. Budget space, extraction and goggles before you start.

FAQ

Which ACMER machine is best for beginners?

The ACMER S1 arrives 99% preassembled with a one-minute head install, making it the easiest start. The S2 12W with safety cover is a good choice if you want a bigger bed with protection included.

Can ACMER lasers cut acrylic?

Yes. The S2 12W listings claim up to 12 mm black acrylic with multiple passes, and the S1 cuts thin acrylic.

What software works with ACMER machines?

The lasers support Acmerstudio, and several listings add LightBurn and LaserGRBL. The Ascarva 3S supports Candle, UGS and Easel.

Can the Ascarva 4S spindle be upgraded?

Yes. The listing says the 70W spindle can be upgraded to a 500W high-power spindle.

Does the S2 20W include air assist?

Yes, its listing includes a 25L/min air assist pump.