Ryobi ONE+ Impact Drivers Ranked: Brushless Power vs Compact Control
Every spec and price on this page is quoted from the Amazon listing for that model. Scores are out of 10, based on listed specifications and buyer feedback. Nothing here was handled or measured by us.
As Amazon Associates, we earn from qualifying purchases. This means we may receive a small commission at no extra cost to you if you click through and make a purchase.
If you want the Ryobi ONE+ impact driver with the most punch per battery, the HP brushless 1/4 in. model rated at 2,200 in-lbs is the strongest driver in this lineup. If you would rather have a small, light tool that slips behind a desk or inside a PC case shelf build, the compact brushless PSBID01 at 5.3 inches long is the easier one to handle. Both run on the same Ryobi 18V ONE+ batteries, so whichever you pick works with the rest of the system.
This article covers six Ryobi ONE+ tools: three 1/4 in. impact drivers sold tool-only (the PCL235B, the HP brushless 2,200 in-lb model and the compact PSBID01), the compact PSBID01K kit with two batteries, and two impact wrenches (a 3/8 in. model and the 4-mode 1/2 in. HP brushless PBLIW01B). They differ in torque, size and whether a battery comes in the box. Several of these Amazon listings carry unrelated boilerplate text and garbled specs, so we lean on the listing titles and the specs that make sense, and we say where data is missing. We compared listings, not tools in hand.
JOB SHEET
Which Ryobi Impact Driver Should You Buy
- Most torque from a 1/4 in. impact driver: Ryobi ONE+ HP 18V Brushless 1/4 in. Impact Driver (2,200 in-lbs).
go to no. 02 - Simple, no-frills driver for existing ONE+ owners: Ryobi ONE+ 18V 1/4 in. Impact Driver PCL235B.
go to no. 01 - First impact driver with batteries, charger and bag: Ryobi ONE+ HP Compact Brushless Impact Driver Kit PSBID01K.
go to no. 05 - Smallest, lightest driver for tight spaces, tool only: Ryobi ONE+ HP Compact Brushless Impact Driver PSBID01.
go to no. 06 - Lug nuts and medium bolts: Ryobi ONE+ 18V 3/8 in. Impact Wrench.
go to no. 03 - The heaviest fasteners and a 1/2 in. socket set: Ryobi ONE+ HP Brushless 4-Mode 1/2 in. High Torque Impact Wrench.
No. 01
of 6
Ryobi
Ryobi ONE+ 18V 1/4 in. Impact Driver PCL235B

9.6
/10
Our score
Well rated
Scored 9.2/10 or higher
Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.
Best for
Existing ONE+ owners on a simple driver
Pros
- 1,800 in-lbs torque
- Up to 3,400 IPM
- Built-in LED work light
Cons
- Brushed, per model line
- Battery not included
The RYOBI ONE+ 18V Cordless 1 4 in. Impact Driver, model PCL235B, is the straightforward option. Its title lists 1,800 in-lbs of torque and 0 to 3,400 impacts per minute, and the specs add a built-in LED work light and a 1/4 in. hex chuck. It is sold tool only, so the battery is not included.
That is the whole story the listing tells; its feature and description fields contain unrelated replacement-parts text, so details like length, weight and motor type are not specified. It suits someone who already owns Ryobi ONE+ batteries and wants a capable driver for furniture assembly, deck screws and mounting a TV bracket. It gives way to the HP brushless models if you want more torque or a more compact body.
No. 02
of 6
Ryobi
Ryobi ONE+ HP 18V Brushless 1/4 in. Impact Driver

8.2
/10
Our score
Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.
Best for
Tight spaces with batteries already owned
Pros
- 3 in. long, 23% lighter
- LED worklight
- One-handed bit release
Cons
- Battery and charger not included
- Spec table has errors
Best for
First-time buyers wanting a ready kit
Pros
- Two 1.5 Ah batteries, charger, bag
- 3 in. compact brushless body
- Up to 3,800 IPM
Cons
- 1,700 in-lbs, lower torque
- Small batteries
The ONEAND HP 18V BRUSHLESS Cordless 1/4 in. Impact Driver (the “ONEAND” in the title is how the listing renders ONE+) is the Ryobi HP brushless impact driver with the highest torque here: 2,200 in-lbs, with up to 2,900 rpm and variable speed, per the specifications. It is tool only.
The listing does not give impacts per minute, length, weight or model number, and a “battery capacity: 4” entry makes no sense for a bare tool, so ignore it. Still, if your projects include long lag screws, framing a gaming loft or driving into dense lumber, the extra torque over the compact models is the reason to pick this one. For comparison with other high-output 18V drivers, our 18V impact driver guide shows how brushless tools stack up.
- 2,200 in-lbs max torque
- Up to 2,900 rpm with variable speed
- 1/4 in. hex chuck
- Tool only
No. 03
of 6
Ryobi
Ryobi ONE+ 18V 3/8 in. Impact Wrench

9.4
/10
Our score
Well rated
Scored 9.2/10 or higher
Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.
The ONEAND 18V Cordless 3 8 in. Impact Wrench is a different tool from the drivers above. Instead of a hex chuck for bits, it has a 3/8 in. square drive for sockets, and the listing gives 220 ft-lbs of torque. It works with all Ryobi 18V ONE+ batteries and is sold tool only.
The rest of the spec table is unreliable: a speed of “500 revolutions per week” and a “drilling capacity” entry are clearly data errors, so the listing effectively does not specify speed. A 3/8 in. wrench is a common size for car work, lawn equipment and bolts on a home workshop bench. It suits anyone who needs a Ryobi 18V impact wrench without jumping to the heavier 1/2 in. model.
No. 04
of 6
Ryobi
Ryobi ONE+ HP 18V Brushless 4-Mode 1/2 in. High Torque Impact Wrench

9.6
/10
Our score
Well rated
Scored 9.2/10 or higher
Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.
The ONEAND HP 18V BRUSHLESS Cordless 4-Mode 1/2 in. HIGH Torque Impact Wrench, model PBLIW01B, is the Ryobi 1/2 in. impact wrench for the biggest fasteners. The title confirms an HP brushless motor, four modes and a high-torque design, and the specs list a weight of 5.1 pounds and a metal build.
The listing does not specify its torque figure, speed or what each of the four modes does, which is a real gap for a tool bought for power. Check the manufacturer’s spec sheet before buying if you need a specific number. It suits drivers doing wheel changes, suspension work or heavy equipment maintenance; for more detail on this model, see our Ryobi high torque impact wrench review.
No. 05
of 6
Ryobi
Ryobi ONE+ HP Compact Brushless Impact Driver Kit PSBID01K

9.6
/10
Our score
Well rated
Scored 9.2/10 or higher
Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.
The RYOBI ONE+ HP 18V Brushless Cordless Compact 1/4 in. Impact Driver Kit, the Ryobi PSBID01K, is the only kit in this list. It includes the compact impact driver, two 1.5 Ah lithium-ion batteries, an 18V charger and a tool bag. The brushless motor provides up to 1,700 in-lbs of torque and up to 3,800 impacts per minute, with variable speed up to 2,900 rpm.
The description says the tool is just 5.3 inches long and is 26% more compact and over 23% lighter than the brushed version, which makes it easier for overhead work and tight spots. Having two batteries means one can charge while you work. The 1.5 Ah packs are small, though, so for longer sessions you may want a bigger battery later. It suits first-time Ryobi buyers who want everything in one box, and it answers the Ryobi impact driver kit vs tool only question for anyone without batteries.
- Two 1.5 Ah batteries, charger and bag
- Up to 1,700 in-lbs and 3,800 IPM
- 5.3 in. long brushless body
No. 06
of 6
Ryobi
Ryobi ONE+ HP Compact Brushless Impact Driver PSBID01

8.2
/10
Our score
Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.
The Ryobi ONE+ HP 18V Cordless Compact Brushless 1/4 in. Impact Driver PSBID01 is the same compact tool as the kit, sold tool only with no battery or charger. The features list a brushless motor for longer runtime and motor life, up to 3,800 IPM, a variable speed trigger up to 2,900 rpm, 1,700 in-lbs of torque, an on-board LED worklight and a knurled 1/4 in. hex collet for one-handed bit release.
Its spec table contains obvious errors, including a max speed of 2.9 rpm and a torque of 0.42 N m, so rely on the feature bullets instead. At 5.3 inches long, it is the pick for working inside cabinets, behind a media console or in a cramped desk build, provided you already own ONE+ batteries.
- 1,700 in-lbs torque and up to 3,800 IPM
- Variable speed up to 2,900 rpm
- LED worklight and one-handed bit release
- Tool only
What Sets These Models Apart
| Model | Drive | Torque from listing | In the box |
|---|---|---|---|
| PCL235B | 1/4 in. hex | 1,800 in-lbs | Tool only |
| HP Brushless 1/4 in. | 1/4 in. hex | 2,200 in-lbs | Tool only |
| 3/8 in. Impact Wrench | 3/8 in. square | 220 ft-lbs | Tool only |
| PBLIW01B 1/2 in. Wrench | 1/2 in. square | Not specified | Tool only |
| PSBID01K Kit | 1/4 in. hex | 1,700 in-lbs | 2 batteries, charger, bag |
| PSBID01 | 1/4 in. hex | 1,700 in-lbs | Tool only |
Figures in this table are copied from the Amazon listings for these models.
NOTES
Buying Tips for Ryobi Impact Drivers
Pick the drive type first. A 1/4 in. hex impact driver takes screwdriver bits and is the right tool for screws, lag bolts and assembly. An impact wrench takes sockets and is built for nuts and bolts. Most home users start with a driver and add a wrench only if they work on cars or machinery.
Then decide between kit and tool only. If you already own Ryobi ONE+ batteries, a bare tool saves you duplicate chargers. If you are new to the platform, the PSBID01K kit gets you running immediately. Brushless motors generally run cooler and more efficiently than brushed ones, which is why the HP models are the performance choice.
Finally, match torque to the job. More torque is not always better: for small screws in particleboard or electronics enclosures, a compact driver on a gentle trigger gives more control than the strongest tool.
FAQ
Which Ryobi impact driver has the most torque?
Among the 1/4 in. drivers, the HP brushless model lists 2,200 in-lbs, the highest here.
Is the PSBID01K the same tool as the PSBID01?
Yes, based on the listings. The PSBID01K is the kit with two 1.5 Ah batteries, a charger and a bag, while the PSBID01 is tool only.
Does the PCL235B include a battery?
No. The listing says tool only, battery not included.
What torque does the Ryobi 1/2 in. impact wrench PBLIW01B deliver?
The listing does not specify it. It confirms an HP brushless motor, four modes and a high-torque design.
Will these tools work with my existing Ryobi batteries?
They are all Ryobi 18V ONE+ tools, and the 3/8 in. wrench listing states compatibility with all Ryobi 18V ONE+ batteries.
Impact driver or impact wrench for home use?
An impact driver covers most home projects. Choose a wrench when you regularly deal with nuts and bolts, such as wheel lug nuts.



