Skip to content
KitSift.net Specs and prices read off the listing
Tools & Garden

Porter-Cable Cordless Brad Nailer and the Pneumatic Options

5 models on the list October 10, 2026 7 min read

Every spec and price on this page is quoted from the Amazon listing for that model. Scores are out of 10, based on listed specifications and buyer feedback. Nothing here was handled or measured by us.

As Amazon Associates, we earn from qualifying purchases. This means we may receive a small commission at no extra cost to you if you click through and make a purchase.

If you want a Porter-Cable cordless nailer, the only battery-powered model in this group is the PCC790B, a 20V MAX 18-gauge brad nailer. It runs entirely on battery power, so you skip the compressor, the hose and the gas cartridges some cordless nailers need. It ships as a bare tool, though, so you need a Porter-Cable 20V MAX battery and charger to use it.

This guide covers four Porter-Cable nailers. Alongside the PCC790B, we look at three pneumatic models that run on a compressor: the PIN138 23-gauge pin nailer for delicate trim, the FN250C 16-gauge straight finish nailer kit for baseboards and casing, and the FN250SB 16-gauge finish nailer. We compared listings, specifications and intended use rather than firing test boards, and some of these listings are thin, which we point out where it matters.

JOB SHEET

Which Porter-Cable Nailer Should You Buy

  • You want no compressor or hose and already own 20V MAX batteries: PORTER-CABLE PCC790B 20V MAX Lithium 18GA.
    go to no. 02
  • You attach thin moldings, veneer or small craft pieces: PORTER-CABLE Pin Nailer (PIN138).
    go to no. 03
  • You install baseboards, door casing and heavier trim with a compressor: Porter-Cable FN250C 16-Gauge Finish Nailer Kit.
  • You want a 16-gauge finish nailer and already run a compressor: Porter-Cable 16-Gauge Pneumatic Finish Nailer FN250SB, after checking its details.
    go to no. 05

No. 01
of 5

Cordless vs Pneumatic Nailers in Plain Terms

A pneumatic nailer uses compressed air from a separate compressor, delivered through a hose, to drive each fastener. The tool itself is light and simple, but you need the compressor, the hose and an outlet nearby, and you drag the hose around the room. A battery nailer builds its own driving force inside the tool, so you pick it up and work anywhere, from a closet to a ladder, with nothing trailing behind you.

The trade-off is weight and upfront setup. Battery nailers carry a motor and a battery pack, so they are heavier in the hand, while air nailers are lighter but tie you to the compressor. For a weekend trim project in one room, either works. For small jobs spread around a house, cordless tends to save setup time.

No. 02
of 5
Porter-Cable

PORTER-CABLE PCC790B 20V MAX Lithium 18GA

PORTER-CABLE PCC790B 20V MAX Lithium 18GA
PORTER-CABLE PCC790B 20V MAX Lithium 18GA

9.4
/10
Our score


Well rated
Scored 9.2/10 or higher


See it on Amazon

Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.

Best for
DIYers who want no compressor or hose

Pros

  • Fully battery powered, no gas cartridges
  • Tool-free settings
  • Balanced center of gravity

Cons

  • Bare tool, battery and charger sold separately
  • Heaviest here at 6.4 lb

The PORTER-CABLE PCC790B 20V MAX Lithium 18GA brad nailer is the cordless answer. The listing says it runs on 100% battery power, removing the need for a compressor, hose or gas cartridges, and that its motor design provides consistent firing power into various materials and climate conditions. Multiple tool-free settings handle adjustments without a wrench.

The listing also highlights a lightweight build with an optimal center of gravity to reduce fatigue in multiple positions. That said, the spec table lists 6.4 pounds, the heaviest of the four here, which is typical for a battery nailer carrying its own motor. Its style is listed as “Bare Tool Only,” so the battery and charger are not included. The listing does not specify the brad length range, the magazine capacity or the exact settings the tool-free controls adjust.

This nailer suits DIYers and hobbyists who already own Porter-Cable 20V MAX gear, since you can share batteries across the platform. Our look at Porter-Cable 20V tools covers what else runs on the same packs. It gives way to the pneumatic models if you already own a compressor and want a lighter tool in hand.

  • 18-gauge brad nailer on 20V MAX battery
  • No compressor, hose or gas cartridges
  • Multiple tool-free settings
  • Bare tool only, 6.4 pounds

No. 03
of 5
Porter-Cable

PORTER-CABLE Pin Nailer

PORTER-CABLE Pin Nailer
PORTER-CABLE Pin Nailer

8.4
/10
Our score

MATERIALS

#78
529 in Tools & Home Improvement (See Top 100 in Tools & Home Improvement) #91 in Power Nailers
October 30
2010

Copied from the Amazon listing for this model.


See it on Amazon

Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.

Best for
Delicate trim and small moldings

Pros

  • 23-gauge pins up to 1-3/8 in
  • Very light at 2.2 lb
  • Compact body

Cons

  • Needs a compressor
  • Listing gives almost no feature detail

The PORTER-CABLE Pin Nailer, model PIN138, is a 23-gauge pneumatic tool rated for pins up to 1-3/8 inches. It is the lightest tool here at 2.2 pounds, and the listed dimensions show a very slim body at 11.5 by 1 by 4 inches.

The listing itself is sparse: beyond the gauge, maximum pin length, weight and dimensions, it does not specify the pin length range, magazine capacity, operating pressure or any adjustment features. What is well established about 23-gauge pin nailers in general is that they leave a hole so small it often needs no filler, and they hold pieces in place while glue sets rather than providing structural strength.

This tool suits model builders, cabinet makers and anyone attaching thin trim, cove molding or decorative pieces that an 18-gauge brad could split. It gives way to the PCC790B if you need more holding power without a compressor, and to the FN250C for heavier trim.

No. 04
of 5
Porter-Cable

Porter-Cable FN250C 16-Gauge 2 1/2 in. Straight Finish Nailer Kit

Porter-Cable FN250C 16-Gauge 2 1 2
Porter-Cable FN250C 16-Gauge 2 1 2

8.2
/10
Our score


See it on Amazon

Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.

Best for
Baseboards, door casing and heavier trim

Pros

  • Drives 1 to 2-1/2 in 16 GA nails
  • Tool-free depth and jam release
  • Adjustable rear exhaust
  • Non-marring nose tip

Cons

  • Needs a compressor and hose
  • Sequential trigger slows fast work

The Porter-Cable FN250C 16-Gauge 2 1 2 in. Straight Finish Nailer Kit is the most detailed listing here. It drives 16-gauge FN-style finish nails from 1 inch to 2-1/2 inches long, which covers baseboards, door and window casing and chair rail. The listing describes a maintenance-free motor for long life and an internal piston catch for consistent maximum power on every shot.

Adjustments are tool-free: depth of drive with detents for setting nail heads, jam release for clearing stuck nails and an adjustable exhaust that directs air and contaminants away from you. The magazine is a rear load and lock style, the trigger is sequential with a lock-off switch and the nose tip is removable and non-marring. The body is listed as aluminum and the warranty as one year on material and workmanship. The listing does not specify weight or magazine capacity.

This kit suits homeowners tackling full rooms of trim who already own a compressor. The sequential trigger fires one nail per trigger pull, which favors precision over speed. It gives way to the PCC790B if you would rather not run a hose, and to the PIN138 for delicate pieces.

  • Drives 1 to 2-1/2 inch 16 GA FN nails
  • Tool-free depth of drive and jam release
  • Adjustable exhaust and non-marring tip
  • Sequential trigger with lock-off

No. 05
of 5
Porter-Cable

Porter-Cable 16-Gauge Pneumatic Finish Nailer FN250SB

Porter-Cable 16-Gauge Pneumatic Finish Nailer FN250SB
Porter-Cable 16-Gauge Pneumatic Finish Nailer FN250SB

9.8
/10
Our score


Well rated
Scored 9.2/10 or higher


See it on Amazon

Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.

Best for
Buyers matching an existing FN250 setup

Pros

  • 16-gauge finish nailing
  • 100-nail capacity listed

Cons

  • Listing gives almost no specifications
  • Needs a compressor

The Porter-Cable 16-Gauge Pneumatic Finish Nailer FN250SB is a 16-gauge air-powered finish nailer with a listed capacity of 100 nails. Unfortunately, the listing offers little else: it does not specify nail length range, weight, trigger type, adjustments or what is included beyond “Tools.”

Because the model number resembles the FN250C, it may share some traits, but the listing does not confirm that, and we will not assume features it does not state. If you are considering it, compare the product page carefully with the FN250C, which spells out its nail range and tool-free features. This model suits buyers who already know the FN250SB and want a replacement, and gives way to the FN250C for anyone who wants documented features.

What Sets These Models Apart

Model Power Gauge Listed weight
PCC790B 20V MAX battery, bare tool 18 6.4 pounds
PIN138 Pneumatic 23, pins up to 1-3/8 in 2.2 pounds
FN250C Pneumatic 16, nails 1 to 2-1/2 in The listing does not specify
FN250SB Pneumatic 16 The listing does not specify

Figures in this table are copied from the Amazon listings for these models.

NOTES

Buying Tips for Porter-Cable Nailers

Pick the gauge first. A 23-gauge pin is nearly invisible but has little holding power, an 18-gauge brad suits most light trim and craft work, and a 16-gauge finish nail holds heavier baseboard and casing. If you are shopping across brands, our guide to an 18 gauge brad nailer explains how that size compares.

Then count the hidden costs. The PCC790B needs a battery and charger if you do not own them, while each pneumatic model needs a compressor, hose and fittings. The cheapest path is whichever system you already have in the garage.

Finally, weigh comfort. A 6.4-pound battery tool held overhead feels different from a 2.2-pound pin nailer, so think about where you will be working most.

FAQ

Is there a Porter-Cable cordless finish nailer in this list?

No. The only cordless model here is the PCC790B, an 18-gauge brad nailer. The 16-gauge finish nailers in this guide are pneumatic.

Does the PCC790B come with a battery?

No. It is listed as Bare Tool Only, so the battery and charger are sold separately.

What nails does the FN250C use?

The listing says it drives 16-gauge FN-style finish nails from 1 inch to 2-1/2 inches.

What is a pin nailer used for?

A 23-gauge pin nailer like the PIN138 holds thin trim and small parts, often while glue dries, and leaves a very small hole.

Do the pneumatic models need a compressor?

Yes. The PIN138, FN250C and FN250SB are air tools and need a compressor and hose.