Skip to content
KitSift.net Specs and prices read off the listing
Tools & Garden

DeWalt 20V MAX Tools That Deliver the Most Value

6 models on the list October 17, 2026 8 min read

Every spec and price on this page is quoted from the Amazon listing for that model. Scores are out of 10, based on listed specifications and buyer feedback. Nothing here was handled or measured by us.

As Amazon Associates, we earn from qualifying purchases. This means we may receive a small commission at no extra cost to you if you click through and make a purchase.

When you are shopping DeWalt tools for the best value, the smartest approach is to think about capability per dollar spent across the whole 20V MAX battery system, not just the sticker on one box. Every tool in this guide runs on DeWalt 20V MAX batteries, so a kit with batteries and a charger is worth more to a first-time buyer, while a bare tool is the better buy for someone who already has packs on the shelf. For a setup builder cutting a cable channel in a desk, sanding a custom shelf or bolting together a sim rig, the right mix of tools matters more than any single spec.

This DeWalt tool comparison covers six 20V MAX tools: two oscillating multi-tool kits, a drill and impact driver combo kit, an XR impact driver, an XR jig saw and an orbital sander. Three include a battery and charger and three are tool only. We compared their Amazon listings, not our own run-time tests, and we point out where a listing’s specs do not add up.

JOB SHEET

Which DeWalt Tool Should You Buy

  • No batteries yet and need drilling and driving: DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit (DCK240C2)
    go to no. 02
  • Multi-tool with battery for flush cuts and detail work: DEWALT 20V MAX XR Oscillating Tool Kit (DCS356C1)
    go to no. 01
  • Multi-tool with the most accessories in the box: DEWALT 20V MAX XR Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit (DCS356D1)
    go to no. 05
  • Stronger impact driver for batteries you already own: DEWALT 20V MAX XR Impact Driver (DCF845B)
    go to no. 03
  • Curves and cutouts in wood panels: DEWALT 20V MAX XR Jig Saw (DCS334B)
    go to no. 04
  • Smooth finishes on desks and shelves: DEWALT 20V MAX Orbital Sander (DCW210B)
    go to no. 06

No. 01
of 6
Dewalt

DEWALT 20V MAX XR Oscillating Tool Kit (DCS356C1)

DEWALT 20V MAX XR Oscillating Tool
DEWALT 20V MAX XR Oscillating Tool

9.4
/10
Our score


Well rated
Scored 9.2/10 or higher


See it on Amazon

Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.

Best for
Finishing wood builds and desk tops

Pros

  • 8,000-12,000 OPM variable speed
  • Low-profile design
  • Dust bag and extractor port

Cons

  • Tool only
  • Dust collectors sold separately

Best for
Renovators wanting every accessory in the box

Pros

  • 28 cutting and sanding attachments
  • 0Ah battery and charger
  • Brushless 3-speed

Cons

  • Listing omits max OPM

Best for
Cutting shapes in desks and panels

Pros

  • Up to 3,200 spm
  • 4-position orbital action
  • Keyless blade and bevel changes
  • Integrated dust blower

Cons

  • Tool only, 4.2 pounds

Best for
Owners adding a stronger impact driver

Pros

  • 1,825 in-lbs torque
  • 3-speed setting
  • Brushless, Tool Connect chip ready

Cons

  • Tool only
  • Chuck size spec conflicts

Best for
Starting a 20V MAX setup from scratch

Pros

  • Drill and impact driver together
  • Two batteries, charger and bag
  • Compact 2.8 and 3.6 pound tools

Cons

  • Listing omits torque figures
  • Impact driver model named oddly

Best for
First-time multi-tool buyers needing a battery

Pros

  • Brushless, up to 20,000 OPM
  • Battery and charger included
  • Quick-Change wrench-free accessories
  • 3 year limited warranty

Cons

  • Battery capacity spec looks wrong
  • Fewer accessories than DCS356D1

The DEWALT 20V MAX XR Oscillating Tool Kit, model DCS356C1, is a brushless multi-tool that reaches up to 20,000 OPM and comes with a battery, a charger and blades. A 3-speed selector lets you match speed to the job, and a Dual-Grip variable-speed trigger gives finer control. DeWalt says the brushless motor delivers up to 57 percent more runtime than brushed tools.

The Quick-Change accessory system swaps blades without wrenches, and a universal accessory adaptor works with most oscillating tool accessory brands. A bright LED lights up dark surfaces, the tool weighs 3 pounds and it carries a 3 year limited warranty. The description names drywall, detail sanding and laminate floor cutting among common uses. One spec looks wrong: the battery capacity reads 40 amp-hours, which is not plausible for a single tool battery, so check the actual battery included on the product page. Choose this kit if you want the multi-tool and a battery but do not need a big accessory set.

No. 02
of 6
Dewalt

DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit (DCK240C2)

DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill
DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill

8.6
/10
Our score


See it on Amazon

Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.

The DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit, model DCK240C2, is the value anchor for anyone starting from zero. You get a 20V MAX compact 1/2 inch drill/driver, a 1/4 inch impact driver, two batteries, a charger and a storage bag. That covers drilling holes, driving screws and assembling furniture or a desk frame, and the two batteries will run any of the bare tools in this guide.

Both tools are compact: the impact driver is 5.55 inches long and 2.8 pounds, and the drill/driver is 7.5 inches and 3.6 pounds. Each has an LED work light with a 20-second delay. The impact driver has a 1/4 inch hex chuck for one-handed loading of 1 inch bit tips, and the drill has a 1/2 inch single-sleeve ratcheting chuck. The listing does not give torque or speed figures, and it names the impact driver as “DCF88M2,” an unusual model designation, so confirm what ships. It has a 3 year limited warranty. If you want even lighter driving for small screws, our guide to a DeWalt cordless screwdriver covers smaller options.

  • Drill/driver and impact driver in one kit
  • Two 20V MAX batteries, charger and bag
  • LED work lights with 20-second delay
  • 3 year limited warranty

No. 03
of 6
Dewalt

DEWALT 20V MAX XR Impact Driver (DCF845B)

DEWALT 20V MAX XR Impact Driver
DEWALT 20V MAX XR Impact Driver

9.6
/10
Our score


Well rated
Scored 9.2/10 or higher


See it on Amazon

Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.

The DEWALT 20V MAX XR Impact Driver, model DCF845B, is the step up from the kit’s standard driver. Its brushless motor delivers 1,825 in-lbs of torque at 3,400 rpm, and DeWalt rates it at 30 percent more torque than the DCF885, which it lists at 1,400 in-lbs. A 3-speed setting and variable speed trigger add control, and an integrated 3-LED light helps in dark spaces. It includes a belt hook and carries a 3 year limited warranty.

It is tool only, with battery and charger sold separately, and it is Tool Connect chip ready, with the chip sold separately. The specs list a 0.5-inch max chuck size, which conflicts with the 1/4 inch hex in the title; go by the title. If you already own 20V MAX batteries and drive large screws or lag bolts, this is one of the best-value additions here. For heavier bolts, a DeWalt half inch impact wrench is the next step.

No. 04
of 6
Dewalt

DEWALT 20V MAX XR Jig Saw (DCS334B)

DEWALT 20V MAX XR Jig Saw
DEWALT 20V MAX XR Jig Saw

8.8
/10
Our score


See it on Amazon

Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.

The DEWALT 20V MAX XR Jig Saw, model DCS334B, handles curves, cutouts and shapes. A variable speed trigger and dial control blade speed up to 3,200 strokes per minute, and 4-position orbital action lets you trade cut speed for finish quality. DeWalt says the brushless motor gives longer runtime than the DCS331.

Blade changes use an all-metal, lever-action keyless clamp for T-shank blades, and the keyless shoe bevels with detents at 0, 15 and 30 degrees plus a positive stop at 45 degrees. An integrated dust blower keeps the cut line clear and an LED lights your work. It measures 8.25 by 1.75 by 6.38 inches and weighs 4.2 pounds, tool only. A few spec fields, such as 2,000 watts and 10 teeth, do not fit a cordless jig saw, so rely on the feature list. For cutting a monitor-arm hole or a curved desk edge, this is the tool to add.

No. 05
of 6
Dewalt

DEWALT 20V MAX XR Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit (DCS356D1)

DEWALT 20V MAX XR Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit, Oscillating Tool Accessories, Cordless, 3-Speed, Quick Blade Change, Sand Paper, Blades, Battery and Charger Included (DCS356D1)

9.8
/10
Our score


Well rated
Scored 9.2/10 or higher


See it on Amazon

Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.

The DEWALT 20V MAX XR Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit, model DCS356D1, is the same brushless 3-speed multi-tool as the DCS356C1, but packaged with far more gear. The description lists 28 popular cutting and sanding attachments, a universal accessory adaptor, one 2.0Ah battery and a charger. That makes it the better choice for anyone starting a renovation or a series of build projects who does not want to buy blades separately.

It has the same Quick-Change accessory system, Dual-Grip variable-speed trigger, LED light and claim of up to 57 percent more runtime than brushed tools. The listing gives a weight of 2.3 pounds and a 3-year warranty on material and workmanship. It does not state maximum OPM. If you want a multi-tool plus the accessories, choose this kit over the DCS356C1.

No. 06
of 6
Dewalt

DEWALT 20V MAX Orbital Sander (DCW210B)

DEWALT 20V MAX Orbital Sander, Tool Only (DCW210B)

9.4
/10
Our score


Well rated
Scored 9.2/10 or higher


See it on Amazon

Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.

The DEWALT 20V MAX Orbital Sander, model DCW210B, is described as a 5 inch brushless random orbital sander. A variable-speed dial runs from 8,000 to 12,000 OPM, and the low-profile design keeps your hand close to the work for control. The replaceable 8-hole hook-and-loop pad makes paper changes quick.

A dust-sealed switch protects against dust ingestion, a texturized rubber overmold improves grip, and a one-handed locking dust bag catches debris. The dust port also fits DeWalt’s DWV010 and DWV012 dust collectors, sold separately. It weighs 2.5 pounds and is tool only. For finishing a custom desk top or a speaker stand, this is the tool that makes a build look finished.

What Sets These Models Apart

Tool Battery Included Key Spec Weight
DCS356C1 Oscillating Tool Kit Yes, one Up to 20,000 OPM, 3 speeds 3 lb
DCK240C2 Combo Kit Yes, two Drill/driver plus impact driver 3.6 lb drill, 2.8 lb driver
DCF845B Impact Driver No 1,825 in-lbs, 3,400 rpm Not specified
DCS334B Jig Saw No Up to 3,200 spm 4.2 lb
DCS356D1 Multi-Tool Kit Yes, 2.0Ah 28 attachments included 2.3 lb
DCW210B Orbital Sander No 8,000-12,000 OPM 2.5 lb

Figures in this table are copied from the Amazon listings for these models.

NOTES

Buying Tips for DeWalt 20V MAX Tools

Buy batteries once. If you have no 20V MAX packs, start with the DCK240C2 combo kit, then add bare tools like the jig saw, sander and XR impact driver. Buying three kits with batteries you do not need is the fastest way to waste money.

Match the tool to the project. Oscillating tools are for flush cuts, detail sanding and awkward spots; jig saws are for curves; sanders are for finish. For a desk or rig build, a drill kit plus a jig saw and sander covers most of the work. For bigger straight cuts in sheet goods, see our DeWalt table saw guide.

Read the specs carefully. Several listings here include mislabeled fields, like a 40 amp-hour battery or a 2,000-watt jig saw. Trust the titles and feature lists, and confirm what is in the box.

FAQ

Which DeWalt tools come with a battery?

The DCS356C1 and DCS356D1 multi-tool kits each include one battery and a charger, and the DCK240C2 combo kit includes two batteries, a charger and a bag.

What is the difference between DCS356C1 and DCS356D1?

Both use the same brushless 3-speed multi-tool. The DCS356D1 adds 28 cutting and sanding attachments and a 2.0Ah battery.

How much torque does the DeWalt XR impact driver have?

The DCF845B lists 1,825 in-lbs of torque at 3,400 rpm.

Does the DCW210B sander include a dust bag?

Yes. It has a one-handed locking dust bag, and the port also fits the DWV010 or DWV012 dust collectors sold separately.

Which DeWalt tool should I buy first?

The DCK240C2 combo kit, because its two batteries and charger power every other 20V MAX tool in this guide.