Skip to content
KitSift.net Specs and prices read off the listing
Tools & Garden

Which DEWALT 20V Drill Set Fits Your Workbench?

6 models on the list October 14, 2026 7 min read

Every spec and price on this page is quoted from the Amazon listing for that model. Scores are out of 10, based on listed specifications and buyer feedback. Nothing here was handled or measured by us.

As Amazon Associates, we earn from qualifying purchases. This means we may receive a small commission at no extra cost to you if you click through and make a purchase.

The right DEWALT drill set 20V comes down to two questions: do you want a brushless motor, and do you need an impact driver alongside the drill? DEWALT’s 20V MAX lineup covers every combination, from the compact DCD771 drill kit with small 1.3Ah batteries to brushless two-tool combo kits that can handle a full weekend of building a desk, a media wall or a garage game room.

We compare six DEWALT kits here: the DCD771C2 drill set, the DCK240C2 drill and impact driver combo, the DCD771C2 bundled with a 100-piece bit set, the brushless DCK277D2 combo, the brushless DCD777D1 drill-only kit, and a renewed ATOMIC DCK225D2R combo. They differ in motor type, battery capacity, what is in the box and whether the kit is new. Everything below comes from the listings, including where they contradict themselves.

JOB SHEET

Which DEWALT 20V Drill Set Should You Buy

  • A light first drill for assembly and shelves: DEWALT DCD771C2 Drill Driver Set
    go to no. 01
  • A starter drill plus impact driver: DEWALT DCK240C2 Combo Kit
  • A drill with a full bit set in the box: DEWALT DCD771C2 with 100-Piece Bit Set
    go to no. 03
  • The most capable new kit for home builds: DEWALT DCK277D2 Brushless Combo Kit
    go to no. 04
  • A brushless drill without an impact driver: DEWALT DCD777D1 Brushless Drill Driver Set
    go to no. 05
  • The most compact tools for tight spaces: DEWALT DCK225D2R ATOMIC Combo Kit (Renewed)
    go to no. 06

No. 01
of 6
Dewalt

DEWALT DCD771C2 Drill Driver Set

DEWALT 20V Max Cordless Drill Driver Set, 2 Speed, High Performance Motor, Includes 2 XR 1.3Ah Li-Ion Batteries, Charger and Contractor Bag (DCD771C2)

9.6
/10
Our score


Well rated
Scored 9.2/10 or higher


See it on Amazon

Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.

The DEWALT 20V Max Cordless Drill Driver Set, DCD771C2, is the classic entry kit. Its motor delivers 300 unit watts out, a 2-speed transmission runs 0 to 450 and 0 to 1,500 RPM, and a 1/2 inch single sleeve ratcheting chuck grips bits tightly. The kit includes two XR 1.3Ah batteries, a charger and a contractor bag.

The listing is clear about its limits: it suits home repairs, light construction, and drilling wood, plastic and light metal, and it is not suitable for concrete, masonry or heavy industrial use. Torque appears as 650 in-lbs in one spec line and 530 in-lbs in another, so the listing does not settle the exact figure. The 1.3Ah batteries keep it light but run out sooner on big jobs.

It suits assembling flat-pack furniture, hanging shelves and mounting a monitor arm. If you drive a lot of long screws, the DCK240C2 adds an impact driver; if you want longer runtime, the brushless DCD777D1 is the step up.

No. 02
of 6
Dewalt

DEWALT DCK240C2 Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit

DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Impact Driver, Power Tool Combo Kit , Includes 2 Batteries, Charger and Bag (DCK240C2)

8.6
/10
Our score


See it on Amazon

Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.

The DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit, DCK240C2, pairs the DCD771 compact drill with a 1/4 inch impact driver. The listing gives specific sizes: the impact driver is 5.55 inches long and 2.8 pounds, and the drill is 7.5 inches and 3.6 pounds. Both have LED work lights with a 20-second delay.

The impact driver has a 1/4 inch hex chuck for one-handed loading of 1 inch bit tips, while the drill keeps the 1/2 inch ratcheting chuck. The kit includes two batteries, a charger and a bag, and a 3 year limited warranty. The listing does not specify battery capacity or describe either tool as brushless, and the “Brushed” line in the specs refers to finish, so treat it as unconfirmed. The description names the impact driver as DCF88M2, which may be a typo.

  • Compact drill and 1/4 inch impact driver
  • LED lights with 20-second delay on both
  • 3 year limited warranty

It suits DIYers who want both tools without paying extra for brushless. For bigger builds, the DCK277D2 brings brushless motors and 2.0Ah batteries.

No. 03
of 6
Dewalt

DEWALT DCD771C2 with 100-Piece Bit Set

DEWALT 20V MAX* Cordless Drill/Driver Kit with Screwdriver/Drill Bit Set, 100-Piece (DCD771C2 & DWA2FTS100)

9.4
/10
Our score


Well rated
Scored 9.2/10 or higher


See it on Amazon

Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.

The DEWALT 20V MAX* Cordless Drill Driver Kit with a 100-piece screwdriver and drill bit set bundles the same DCD771C2 drill with DEWALT’s DWA2FTS100 accessory set. The set includes Impact Ready, Tough Case and Pilot Point drive and drill bits, so you can start working the day it arrives.

The drill offers 300 UWO, two speeds and 1.3Ah lithium-ion batteries. Specs list drilling capacity of 39mm in wood and 13mm in metal. The maximum chuck size appears as 20mm in the specs and 200mm in the description, both of which conflict with the 1/2 inch chuck on the DCD771 elsewhere, so treat those figures as errors. It suits new tool owners who have no bits yet. If you already own a bit set, the plain DCD771C2 is the same drill.

No. 04
of 6
Dewalt

DEWALT DCK277D2 Brushless Combo Kit

DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Impact Driver, Power Drill Brushless 2-Tool Power Tool Combo Kit, Includes 2 Batteries, Charger and Bag (DCK277D2)

8.2
/10
Our score


See it on Amazon

Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.

The DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Brushless Combo Kit, DCK277D2, is the most capable new kit here. It includes the DCD777 1/2 inch brushless drill/driver and the DCF787 1/4 inch brushless impact driver, two 2.0Ah compact batteries, a charger and a contractor bag.

The drill is 7.6 inches front to back with an ergonomic grip, an LED with a 20-second delay and a variable speed trigger for control on delicate surfaces. The specs list 1,500 in-lbs of torque and 2,800 RPM, which likely describe the impact driver, though the listing does not say which tool. The warranty line lists a 3 year limited warranty, a 1 year free service contract and a 90 day money back guarantee.

  • Brushless drill and brushless impact driver
  • Two 2.0Ah batteries
  • LED with 20-second delay

It suits anyone building furniture, framing a partition or doing a room makeover. Brushless motors run cooler and more efficiently, and the larger batteries go longer between charges. For more on DEWALT drills in general, see our guide to the DEWALT 20V MAX drill lineup.

No. 05
of 6
Dewalt

DEWALT DCD777D1 Brushless Drill Driver Set

DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill Driver Set, Electric Drill, Brushless 1/2 In 2 Speed, 2.0 Ah Battery and Charger Included, LED Light (DCD777D1)

9.0
/10
Our score


See it on Amazon

Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.

The DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill Driver Set, DCD777D1, gives you the brushless DCD777 drill on its own with one 2.0Ah battery and a charger. The listing says the brushless motor delivers more runtime than brushed, and the tool is 7.6 inches front to back with an ergonomic grip and an LED with a 20-second delay.

It has a 2-speed transmission, a 1/2 inch single-sleeve ratcheting chuck and 53.1 Nm of max torque. Power appears as 300 watts in the specs and 340 UWO in the description. It carries a 3 year limited warranty. With only one battery, you will pause to recharge on long jobs. It suits someone who wants brushless efficiency in a drill-only kit; if you want an impact driver too, the DCK277D2 includes the same drill.

No. 06
of 6
Dewalt

DEWALT DCK225D2R ATOMIC Combo Kit (Renewed)

DEWALT DCK225D2R 20V MAX ATOMIC 1/2 in. Cordless Drill Driver and 1/4 in. Cordless Impact Driver Combo Kit (2 Ah) (Renewed)

8.0
/10
Our score


See it on Amazon

Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.

The DEWALT DCK225D2R 20V MAX ATOMIC 1/2 in. Drill Driver and 1/4 in. Impact Driver Combo Kit is sold renewed under the Amazon Renewed program, so it is a refurbished kit rather than new. It pairs the DCD794 drill, DEWALT’s shortest 20V MAX drill driver at a 5.88 inch head length, with the DCF809 impact driver, which is 5.1 inches long and delivers 1,700 in-lbs of torque.

Both tools belong to the ATOMIC COMPACT SERIES, have onboard LEDs, and the description calls both brushless. The listing claims up to 16% more power for drilling applications and uses 2Ah batteries. It lists seven items in the kit without naming each one. It suits anyone working inside cabinets, behind desks or in tight cable runs, and who is comfortable buying renewed. If you prefer a new kit with full warranty clarity, the DCK277D2 is the safer bet.

What Sets These Models Apart

Kit Tools Motor Batteries
DCD771C2 Drill Not listed as brushless 2 x 1.3Ah
DCK240C2 Drill and impact driver Not listed as brushless 2, capacity not specified
DCD771C2 + 100-piece set Drill and bits Not listed as brushless 1.3Ah
DCK277D2 Drill and impact driver Brushless 2 x 2.0Ah
DCD777D1 Drill Brushless 1 x 2.0Ah
DCK225D2R (Renewed) Drill and impact driver Brushless 2Ah

Figures in this table are copied from the Amazon listings for these models.

NOTES

Buying Tips for DEWALT 20V Drill Sets

Decide whether you need an impact driver. A drill handles holes and light screw driving, but an impact driver sinks long screws faster with less wrist strain. If most of your work is assembling furniture and hanging shelves, a drill-only kit is enough. For light assembly only, a cordless screwdriver may be all you need.

Weigh brushless against brushed. Brushless motors run cooler, last longer and get more work from each charge, which matters on bigger builds. The DCK277D2, DCD777D1 and ATOMIC kit are brushless; the DCD771-based kits are not listed that way.

Look at battery capacity. 1.3Ah packs are light but short-lived; 2.0Ah packs last longer. All six kits run on the 20V MAX platform, so batteries work across DEWALT 20V MAX tools you add later.

FAQ

Is the DEWALT DCD771C2 brushless?

Its listing describes a high performance motor but does not call it brushless. The DCD777D1 is the brushless drill-only kit here.

Can the DCD771 drill into concrete?

No. Its listing says it is not suitable for drilling into concrete or masonry.

What is in the DCK277D2 combo kit?

The DCD777 drill/driver, the DCF787 impact driver, two 2.0Ah batteries, a charger and a contractor bag.

What does renewed mean for the ATOMIC kit?

The DCK225D2R is sold under Amazon Renewed, meaning it has been refurbished rather than sold new.

Which DEWALT 20V drill set is best for home builds?

The DCK277D2 offers brushless drill and impact driver with 2.0Ah batteries, making it the most capable new kit here.

Related reading: dewalt drill with bits.