DEWALT 20V MAX XR Kits for Builders Who Want More Power
Every spec and price on this page is quoted from the Amazon listing for that model. Scores are out of 10, based on listed specifications and buyer feedback. Nothing here was handled or measured by us.
As Amazon Associates, we earn from qualifying purchases. This means we may receive a small commission at no extra cost to you if you click through and make a purchase.
If you are shopping for a DEWALT 20V MAX XR combo kit, the right pick comes down to two choices: how many tools you need, and which batteries come in the box. XR is DEWALT’s brushless tier, the equivalent of a flagship GPU line, and every tool in this roundup uses a brushless motor. The best all-rounder for most builders is the DCK250QQ2, which pairs the most powerful 2-speed hammer drill in the listing with an impact driver and two 4Ah POWERPACK batteries.
This XR combo kit comparison covers six listings. Three are two-tool drill and impact kits (DCK250QQ2, DCK2101QQ2 and DCK248D2), one is a renewed four-tool kit (DCK411Q2R), and two are single-tool kits, the DCS356C1 oscillating multitool and the DCD801QQ2 drill driver, which we include because they share the XR platform. They differ in battery capacity, drill type, tool count and weight. We compared the listings and specifications rather than running our own jobsite tests.
JOB SHEET
Which DEWALT 20V MAX XR Kit Should You Buy
Best for: Drilling-only users wanting top control
Pros
- ANTI-ROTATION System
- Up to 175 holes per charge
- 1/2 in. ratcheting chuck
Cons
- Single tool, no impact driver
- No hammer mode
Best for: Remodelers cutting, sanding and trimming
Pros
- 3-speed brushless multitool
- Tool-free Quick-Change blades
- Universal accessory adapter
- 3 year limited warranty
Cons
- Single tool, not a combo
- Battery capacity spec looks wrong
Best for: Masonry work needing a 3-speed hammer drill
Pros
- 3-speed DCD1007 hammer drill
- Up to 275 holes per charge
- Side handle, bag and belt hooks
Cons
- Listing has garbled torque figures
- Heavy at 12.6 pounds
Best for: Heavy drilling and fastening with POWERPACK batteries
Pros
- Two 4Ah POWERPACK batteries
- 1825 in-lbs impact torque
- 2-speed hammer drill up to 2,000 rpm
Cons
- Only two tools
- Heaviest two-tool kit listed
- Best all-round power with POWERPACK batteries: DEWALT DCK250QQ2 hammer drill and impact kit
- Most drilling capability with a 3-speed hammer drill: DEWALT DCK2101QQ2
- Cutting, sanding and trim work: DEWALT DCS356C1 oscillating tool kit
- A single high-control drill with POWERPACK batteries: DEWALT DCD801QQ2
- Compact tools for cabinets and tight spaces: DEWALT DCK248D2
- The most tools in one box, renewed: DEWALT DCK411Q2R 4-tool kit
No. 01
of 6
Dewalt
DEWALT 20V MAX XR Impact Driver and Hammer Drill Kit (DCK250QQ2)

8.4
/10
Our score
Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.
The DEWALT 20V MAX XR Impact Driver and Hammer Drill kit, model DCK250QQ2, is the balanced top-tier choice. It pairs the DCD806, which the listing calls DEWALT’s most powerful 20V MAX 2-speed hammer drill and up to 109% more powerful, with the DCF845 impact driver, rated at 30% more torque. The impact driver’s brushless motor delivers 1825 in-lbs of torque and 3400 RPM for large-diameter screws.
The drill uses a high-speed transmission and a variable speed trigger with two settings, 0 to 650 and 0 to 2,000 rpm. What makes this kit stand out is its power supply: two 20V MAX XR POWERPACK 4Ah batteries plus a charger. The listed weight is 4.84 kg, so expect a substantial kit.
This suits the homeowner or tradesperson who wants one kit that handles almost everything from masonry anchors to deck screws. If you need a third drill speed, the DCK2101QQ2 steps up; if you need something lighter for overhead or cabinet work, the DCK248D2 is more compact.
- DCD806 2-speed hammer drill, 0 to 650 and 0 to 2,000 rpm
- DCF845 impact driver with 1825 in-lbs and 3400 RPM
- Two 4Ah POWERPACK batteries and charger
No. 02
of 6
Dewalt
DEWALT 20V MAX XR 3-Speed Hammer Drill and Impact Kit (DCK2101QQ2)

9.6
/10
Our score
Well rated
Scored 9.2/10 or higher
Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.
The DEWALT 20V MAX XR 3-Speed Hammer Drill and Impact Combo Kit is the drilling specialist. It uses the DCD1007, which the listing calls the most powerful hammer drill, and claims up to 275 holes per charge. The companion DCF845 impact driver is listed at 1825 in-lbs of torque and 3,400 RPM. The components list includes a charger, the DCD1007 hammer drill, the DCF845 impact driver, a side handle, two belt hooks, a bag and two DCB2104 4Ah batteries.
The listing has some messy data you should know about. One bullet gives torque as “4.5 cm lbs,” which does not match the 1825 in-lb spec elsewhere, and the battery field oddly says “1 AA batteries required.” We rely on the itemized component list and the torque specification. The listing does not specify the drill’s speed ranges beyond calling it 3-speed.
At 12.6 pounds for the kit, this is for users who drill a lot into masonry or large-diameter holes and want the extra speed range. For general household work, the DCK250QQ2 covers most needs. Our broader guide to the dewalt 20v max drill range explains where each drill class fits.
No. 03
of 6
Dewalt
DEWALT 20V MAX XR Oscillating Tool Kit (DCS356C1)

9.4
/10
Our score
Well rated
Scored 9.2/10 or higher
Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.
The DEWALT 20V MAX XR Oscillating Tool Kit is a single-tool kit, not a combo, but it belongs on the XR shortlist because it is so often the third tool people add. Its brushless motor is claimed to give up to 57% more runtime than brushed designs, and a 3-speed selector with a Dual-Grip variable-speed trigger lets you match speed to the job. The title lists up to 20,000 OPM.
The Quick-Change accessory system swaps blades without wrenches, and a universal adaptor works with most oscillating accessory brands. A bright LED lights dark work surfaces. The description lists drywall work, detail sanding, laminate floor cutting and floor sanding among common applications, and the tool carries a 3 year limited warranty. It includes one battery and a charger, but the listing’s battery capacity field says 40 amp-hours, which cannot be right for this class of tool, so the actual battery capacity is effectively unspecified.
This suits remodelers and DIYers who already own a drill. If you need a drill too, the DCK411Q2R includes this multitool alongside three others.
- 3-speed brushless motor, up to 20,000 OPM
- Tool-free Quick-Change accessory system
- Universal accessory adaptor
- LED work light
No. 04
of 6
Dewalt
DEWALT 20V MAX XR Brushless Drill Driver Kit (DCD801QQ2)

8.2
/10
Our score
Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.
The DEWALT 20V MAX XR Brushless Cordless 1/2 in. Drill Driver Kit is another single-tool kit, built around what the listing calls DEWALT’s most powerful 20V MAX 2-speed drill driver. It is rated up to 109% more powerful, makes up to 175 holes per charge, and runs at 0 to 650 and 0 to 2,000 rpm through a high-speed transmission.
The standout feature is the ANTI-ROTATION System, which senses excessive rotational motion and shuts the tool down, with a red LED to show it has engaged. That is a real safety advantage for big bits and hole saws. A 3-position 70-lumen LED with auto-shutoff and a 1/2 in. metal ratcheting chuck round it out, and wood drilling capacity is listed at 1.75 inches. It comes with DEWALT POWERPACK batteries and a charger, though the listing does not specify how many batteries or their capacity.
This is a drill driver, not a hammer drill, so it is for wood and metal rather than masonry. Pick it if you want one premium drill; pick the DCK250QQ2 if you also want an impact driver and hammer mode.
No. 05
of 6
Dewalt
DEWALT 20V MAX XR Compact Drill and Impact Kit (DCK248D2)

8.4
/10
Our score
Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.
The DEWALT 20V MAX* XR Cordless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver and 1/4 in. Impact Driver Kit is the compact option. The DCD800 drill driver is 6.37 inches long, half an inch shorter than the DCD791 per the listing, with a 1/2 in. metal ratcheting chuck and a 3-position, 3-mode LED of up to 70 lumens, including a spotlight mode with a 20-minute shutoff.
The DCF887 impact driver has three speed settings and a Precision Drive mode in speed 1 that helps prevent over-tightening screws. The description says it delivers up to 1,825 in-lbs of torque at only 5.3 inches front to back. The kit includes both tools, two 2Ah batteries, a charger and a kit bag, and carries a 3 year limited warranty.
The 2Ah batteries are lighter but offer less runtime than the 4Ah packs in the DCK250QQ2 and DCK2101QQ2, and there is no hammer mode. It suits cabinet installers and DIYers working in tight spaces. Our dewalt combo kit 20v max guide covers the non-XR alternatives if you want even lighter tools.
- Compact 6.37 in. DCD800 drill driver
- 3-speed DCF887 impact with Precision Drive
- Two 2Ah batteries, charger and bag
- 3 year limited warranty
No. 06
of 6
Dewalt
DEWALT DCK411Q2R 20V MAX XR 4-Tool Combo Kit (Renewed)

8.0
/10
Our score
Affiliate link. Price and stock live at Amazon and change there, not on this page.
Best for
Building a full tool lineup at once
Pros
- Four tools in one kit
- Two 4.0Ah batteries
- Reciprocating saw and multitool included
Cons
- Renewed unit
- Listing omits warranty details
The DEWALT DCK411Q2R 20V MAX XR Lithium-Ion Cordless 4-Tool Combo Kit is a renewed unit sold through Amazon Renewed, and it offers the broadest lineup here. The description lists an XR hammer drill/driver (DCD805), the DCF845 ATOMIC impact driver, the DCS356 XR oscillating multitool, the DCS382 reciprocating saw, two 4.0Ah batteries, a charger and a kit bag.
The listing claims the DCD805 has 40% more power than the DCD796B when used with specified batteries, the DCF845 delivers up to 1,825 in-lbs and 3400 rpm at under 4 inches long, and the reciprocating saw has a 1-1/8 in. stroke length with a twist-style blade clamp. The oscillating tool has the same Dual-Grip trigger and 3-speed selector as the standalone DCS356C1.
Because it is renewed, the listing does not specify a warranty or condition grading, so check those details before buying. For a builder starting from zero who wants cutting and fastening in one purchase, this is the most complete kit; for a new unit with warranty clarity, one of the two-tool kits plus the DCS356C1 is the alternative.
What Sets These Models Apart
| Kit | Tools | Batteries | Drill type |
|---|---|---|---|
| DCK250QQ2 | 2 | Two 4Ah POWERPACK | 2-speed hammer drill |
| DCK2101QQ2 | 2 | Two DCB2104 4Ah | 3-speed hammer drill |
| DCS356C1 | 1 | One, capacity unclear | No drill, oscillating tool |
| DCD801QQ2 | 1 | POWERPACK, count not specified | 2-speed drill driver |
| DCK248D2 | 2 | Two 2Ah | Compact drill driver |
| DCK411Q2R (Renewed) | 4 | Two 4.0Ah | Hammer drill/driver |
Figures in this table are copied from the Amazon listings for these models.
NOTES
Buying Tips for DEWALT 20V MAX XR Combo Kits
Batteries matter as much as the tools. The 4Ah packs in the DCK250QQ2, DCK2101QQ2 and DCK411Q2R give longer runtime for demanding work, while the 2Ah packs in the DCK248D2 keep tools lighter. Every tool here runs on the same 20V MAX platform, so batteries from one kit will power tools from another, making it easy to grow a collection.
Decide whether you need a hammer drill. Hammer mode matters for concrete and brick; a drill driver like the DCD801QQ2 or DCD800 is lighter and fine for wood and metal. If you are mapping out a full workshop, our overview of dewalt 20v power tools shows how the rest of the platform fits together.
Finally, read renewed listings carefully. The DCK411Q2R is the best value in tool count, but it does not list warranty terms, so weigh that against buying a new two-tool kit and adding tools later.
FAQ
Which DEWALT XR kit should I buy first?
For most people, the DCK250QQ2, which combines a 2-speed hammer drill, an impact driver and two 4Ah POWERPACK batteries.
What is the difference between the DCK250QQ2 and DCK2101QQ2?
The DCK250QQ2 uses the 2-speed DCD806 hammer drill, while the DCK2101QQ2 uses the 3-speed DCD1007 and lists up to 275 holes per charge. Both use the DCF845 impact driver.
Are DEWALT POWERPACK batteries compatible with other 20V MAX tools?
The DCD801QQ2 listing states compatibility with DEWALT 20V MAX tools, and the DCK248D2 listing says its tools work with all DEWALT 20V MAX batteries.
Is the DCK411Q2R new?
No. It is a renewed kit sold through Amazon Renewed, and the listing does not specify warranty terms.
Which kit is best for tight spaces?
The DCK248D2, with a 6.37 inch drill driver and an impact driver that measures 5.3 inches front to back.
Are the DCS356C1 and DCD801QQ2 combo kits?
No. Both are single-tool kits with battery and charger, included because they share the XR brushless platform.



